Anon Lifehacker part 2. THE JOURNEY

in #life6 years ago

Chaos Theory

So first thing I've done since last episode was to apply for a scholarship for the course called "Algorithmic Information Dynamics: A Computational Approach to Causality and Living Systems From Networks to Cells" on a website called Complexity Explorer. It is truly unique place on the internet where you can find top-notch mathematical courses quite different from anything else. I love Chaos Theory and Complex Systems, cause I consider it to be the real hardcore science, not for the faint of heart. Classical Statistics tend to overlook subtle things like Butterfly Effect. Research of the Complex Systems can bring revolution to for example personalized medicine and Systems Biology. Courses are provided by the Santa Fe Institute which is located in New Mexico (think Roswell and Area 51 ;))) But it's all about simulation and computation of various phenomena, like weather for example, so I can use this knowledge later if I decide to become Video Games developer, and rich world models are what is missing from most of today newschool games entirely based on cool graphics and oversimplified gameplay. So I've finished first week of lectures and I'm looking forward for the next sessions.

Other crucial elements in my studies are the Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning, and I'm learning this on Udacity, I'm also writing a script in python to crunch cryptocurrency data, but I still struggle with this one. For now I just have some notes on this subject, but I need to find places where I can extract all the relevant data, like price history (easy one) or the internet buzz about given altcoin (hard one). First I need to create simple decision tree that would separate thousands of irrelevant abandoned shitcoins from solid projects with vibrant community, like Smartcash. There is a lot of work to be done in this field, that actually might help me get back on my feet financially.

The Streets

Spending time in my moms basement, learning and programming is cool, but sometimes we need to get out and feel the breeze of the real world. My friends called and invited me for the street workout. After hospital I've almost became a fat blob, that's what their "medicine" do for you, but I've already dropped my weight from 90kg to 80kg. Besides it was cool experience to meet my old friends, one is a 3d graphics artist, other is a club owner. We talked, listened to rap music, smoked a blunt and of course did some workout. It was a pleasant experience. It motivated me to really do something with my life, not just sit and talk. So I did not hesitate to go train with them two days later, and yesterday. Too bad that I might soon leave the city where I live, and it all strated with a...

Lightworker Friend

She found me on the Rosicrucian forum. I've posted some cool text about my numerology system. I'm quite into this Magick stuff, what a surprise it was to discover that all this woo woo stuff actually works if used properly. I'm not a Rosicrucian myself, but I appreciate Hermeticism just like I appreciate Shamanism or Chaos Magick. But let's get back to her. She's different than most people I know. She cares about the others. She wants to change the world. Just like me.

This was just a virtual friendship, but she invited me to the event she organized in Warsaw, capital of my country, so it was a good occasion to meet her in person. I've decided to move my ass from my comfort zone and I've made a weekend trip there. The Event was about physics and art, I've met some really cool open-minded and intelligent people, all in a very climatic place located in the park close to the city center. It was a refreshing experience, I like talking with people and it just felt good. Entering this place was like a crossing a portal to a beautiful world where people are smiling and good vegan food is available for free :) All thanks to Sophia, my forementioned lightworker friend. And one more thing.

New Opportunity

She introduced me to a cool guy who might be my boss if I decide to move there. He is the owner of a data recovery company, and we did an informal interview for a job later this day. Yay, I might have a cool job, and I was a white-hat hacker back in my past life, so I might actually like it. But I'm also a bit afraid I will have to cut the time available for my own studies. My new potential boss is not someone to mess with, and he will be hard on me, I know this. But sometimes we need to grow up and just do what we are supposed to. Extra money might come handy.

But I have to move to another city, and it will be a whole another adventure I guess. But I like the perspective of new opportunities. In my current place, I know everybody already for many years, and there is just no more room to grow. Besides, did I mention that I've created small secret group on facebook, where I connect my various friends whom I like, so we can share our interests and create opportunities for each other? You should try that to. I do it for free (like most things that I do) but one time it may help me in unexpected ways.

Summary

This week was great, I did a lot, especially taking into consideration what the time spent in hospital did to me, so I must admit I'm happy. But can I sustain this good vibes? What if depression will get hold of me again? What decision should I make? Move to the bigger city and work hard, or just stay in home and dream about better future? We will see... And now a summary of experiences I've gained in this part.

  • 250xp INT (courses)
  • 300xp MAN (job interview)
  • 200xp STR (street workout)
  • 50xp CHA (bought fresh clothes)
  • 150xp KAR (met new people, facebook group)
  • 150xp FUN (old friends, event)
  • 300xp AGL (made a trip to Warsaw)

to level up I need to gain 500xp in a given field, for a level 1. then 1000xp for level 2, and 2000xp for level 3. And so on.

You might wonder what's the point of all this statistics. And the answer is Synergy. I never do anything without a deeper meaning. In fact, back in the time when I had my own programming company, I've dreamed of software system that could use all the data we produce daily and help us manage our life and priorities. Of course what I'm doing here is a simplified version of life-management, just to give You a clue. As every scientist should, I'm experimenting primary on myself. Maybe someone will be interested in helping me out with my goals, but first I need to put them in words. Not to mention that this could be a decentralized blockchain project, so we could build a Skynet together (in Python!), that could in turn exterminate all the population, oh wait... nevermind.

Till the next time :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @john-price! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!