What is the effect of social media on teenage life satisfaction?

in #life5 years ago

View the original post on Musing.io

You know, I've been answering questions on musing for almost a year now and every few months, this question always pops up. It may take different forms but generally, the same question is asked. It's a wonderful question and I always try to answer it because the information requested by this question is something every teenager and young adult should know. I hope my answer satisfies you.

The different social media platforms were all created to achieve a specific purpose. To make money for their founders. But the other reason they were established was to connect the world in a way that nothing else can. Social media in itself is a way for every single person across the world to touch each other, in an albeit, small way. The effects of social media on the current generation of humans cannot be overstated. But the problem is, people rarely ever share their problems and everybody wants to appear better than they are. So social media has turned into a kind of cyber beast that has slowly twisted the life expectations of people, especially the teenagers. If the world were to be judged by social media standards then it would be safe to say every one is wealthy, happy and living their best lives. But that's not reality. And while the some people know this, others don't. The most impressionable point in a person's life is his teen years. So when a teenager who's financially imbalanced goes on Instagram and sees someone his age wearing the best clothes, using the best phone and "living the good life", he is bound to feel like his life isn't enough. And when you look at it critically, every person everywhere has had that feeling at least once. Social media can teach a lot to a teenager. But it can also ruin his expectations from life and create unsatisfaction.

Personally speaking, I've been that teenager. I've seen things that made me cry because I couldn't have them and I've faked things to look better than I was. I just hope every teenager out in the world knows that it isn't that way. The words I've said here are the words that someone else told me so I feel obligated to share it whenever I can. I sincerely hope it helps