You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Invisible Thieves are Stealing From You

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This was a really great post. It's something I need to consider for myself. We have moved cross country for work 7 times in the past decade, and almost every time we left everything we couldn't fit into our cars behind. When we got to where we were going, we'd want a TV and the choice would be $10,000 to move all of our household to where we were, or $600 to grab a new TV. Then a new couch, a new set of flatware, new dishes... you get the idea.

Anyway, two years ago in Boise we had three storage units from all over the country "catch up" to us and we've since consolidated four households worth of crap into our permanent home in Pennsylvania. I am sooooo bad about sentimentally holding on to things and even guilting my kids into it too. "Oh! Mom-mom gave you that for your third birthday... you don't want to give THAT away do you?" I think after reading your post here, I may download this book on Audible and really try to take it to heart.

I was already following, and I'm glad. Upvoted and resteemed this.

Sort:  

What an incredible amount of times to move! No judgment from me—I've lived in Arizona my entire life and only moved within the state, so I can't even imagine how big of an ordeal a cross-country move would be! Not to mention 7 times!

Glad to hear you got ahead of the "beast." I'm sure that brought a lot of peace in your life. :) And if it makes you feel any better, my mom used to say almost that exact same thing to me lol. It's hard to let go of things with sentimental value, even if they're things someone else owns.

I, too, listented to the book on Audible. You'll love it! Interested to hear if you have any more "aha!" moments after reading it. Thanks for following and resteeming, that means a lot. :) Also, not sure why I wasn't following you before but I am now!

Thanks! I'm finishing some Victorian mystery right now, but I've been feeling the urge to go non-fiction soon. It seems the time has come, and maybe I'll write a bit about the results and tag you as my inspiration ;)