Losing to Win

in #life6 years ago

One of the hardest lessons that I have and still am learning is that while moving along this thing called life you lose a lot of things. Saying losing sounds a lot of worst then it actually is. Naturally, we think of losing something like the end of the world but sometimes it is exactly what is needed to progress forward or up.

Through my journey I have lost money, I have lost time with my family, time that I should and could have been working on what I am truly passionate about. I have lost friends, girlfriends and honestly a little bit of myself. At times the losses seemed career ending but in big picture more like a blessing in disguises. Kind of sad but truthfully the losses helped mold, much like if you think of an onion. Yes smell, tears and all. Each time I shed something off or lost something I either learned or it made me stronger and more focused on what needed to be done. Despite the thought of losing each has contributed to where I am at now. More lean in regards to working and production thinking, more connected, better at detecting my flaws and honestly more in tune with what works and what doesn’t. I don’t want to say that I’m numb to things now but yeah I’ve learned to mind my own business in both meanings, I’ve heard to fully think things out while still be quicker than writing a dissertation, and have learned to “let go” and not be as attached to things like I use to be.

How to embrace loss

The honest answer there is no clear cut-way to embrace it but what I have found that helps is to look at the positive side. If possible write your overall goal and read it or recite it everyday. When something happens where you lose something, refer to your objective and try to connect how the loss could benefit the objective. Of course the loss of life of a loved one or something close could never justify the positive side of anything.

A brief example my grandparents passed away from breast cancer and a diabetic rush. Both an extremely traumatic time in my life because of how close I was to each. Where the onion effect or the table turned was that little to my knowledge it was their house which I guess you can say that I was house sitting later in life was the launch pad for the foundation of entrepreneurial endeavors.

Throughout the time friends have shed away, relationships have shed away all impacting my life but defining the true me. It is important to understand the loss, don’t dwell on the loss but realize that you are stronger now and push for what truly makes you happy.

What if you shed things away but it doesn’t get better

I have had periods where it seemed like I couldn’t find the positive in anything after losing something until later down the road. Regardless of the situation just know that it will get better. Just keep reading your objective and thinking of how you can get closer to it. This is a lot easier said then done but after a few losses you will be a professional. Stay focused, stay dedicated and stay on top of your objective. !

Sort:  

Congratulations @jsnl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!