Creative force for change, or troll? The choice (and responsibility) is yours...

in #life6 years ago

There are good people on Steemit. When I first started using the platform, I thought I’d find a global community that is looking to change the world.

As in everyday life, there are plenty of inconsiderate, greedy people on Steemit, also. No surprise, but very annoying.

I know that I shouldn’t engage in commentary with “trolls”. Sometimes there isn’t a person behind the trolling comments that I read on Steemit… it’s just a bot. Sometimes there is a person behind the trolling commentary-- and, usually, it’s a psychologically-damaged, insecure, and immature person. A little person, who is swept up in the politics of identity… i.e., a person that needs to belong to a larger group, because that person never felt valued when standing on his or her own two feet. And the easiest group to belong to is a group of faceless trolls. Sad!

I challenge all of you to provide content of true value here on Steemit. Create something new. Take the coolest thing you do, and share it here on Steemit. Is trolling the coolest thing you do?

If you troll, then you are boring and lazy. I’ve seen the trolling commentary; usually, the words are repeated words and phrases, the same used by professional trolls (the ones who have turned their skill at negativity into a business). Very sad.

The only people who could justify their need to troll are meth-addicts and enslaved bot-types. All the other trolls fall into the lazy and boring category.

I fully understand that it’s stupid, on my part, to engage in conversation about this problem that plagues not only Steemit, but which plagues the general level of conversation that is occurring across the world. My only hope is that one of you troll-types can look at yourself in the mirror and remember back to that time in your life when you did something awesome… you know, when time stood still, and you felt something inside you say “this is why I’m alive, right now, and this is what I am meant to do.”

I’m always searching for something better, inside myself. When I find it, I want to share it with the world. I’d like to share whatever positive gifts that I can with Steemit.

Unfortunately, I have a low tolerance for social media. I could easily just go away from Steemit, other than to read the occasional posting, never to comment or blog again. I don’t need Steemit, and I don’t need a tribe to prop up my sense of self-worth. I’ll gladly stand on my own two feet, to the end. I’ve done it before, and will do it again.

If I can’t provide something of positive value, then I don’t want a single follower. I don’t deserve anything unless I provide a real voice for positive change. I’m looking to the future, and I’m holding out for a global revolution. We either succeed, together, or we degenerate into the same old politics of power, greed, and hatred that have failed us every time. If we fail, we might as well hit the self-destruct nuclear button. Are we a plague upon the earth? Or, do we elevate ourselves and our entire universe into creative light? This better be a new dawn for human history, or we truly suck and should hit the self-destruct button.

As human beings, we have a choice. We have words. We have knowledge and self-awareness. And we have responsibility. You are responsible for your choices. At some point, choice becomes binary: yes/no, positive/negative, light/dark, create/destroy. The choice is yours, the choice is mine. I know where I stand. It’s where I’ll stand, alone, if need be. I’m proud to be responsible for my stance.

Thank you for reading, I look forward to your comments. Please make your choice, mentally/spiritually/physically, before writing, and take responsibility for your stance in life.

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.08 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @peppermint24.