Are you a workaholic?

in #life6 years ago

Being a workaholic is not something to be proud of, because your health can be dramatically affected, although you might think that it’s great to love working so much and getting things done. If you recognize yourself in any of these situations, it’s time for you to take it easier.

source

You want to do everything


You avoid postponing things because you’re afraid that you could lose control. Because time is limited, in limit situations you work without stopping, as though your life hangs on that task.

You’re always preoccupied with your job


In the few moments you spend alone, with family or with friends, you always check your emails or work on documents from work. Even in your conversations with friends and family you always bring up your work.

You neglect your personal life


You never take a break, you never go on a holiday, you just use your free time working. Even if you don’t have much work to do, you’re always trying to be proactive and you think that a day in which you relax is a wasted day. This way, you push your family and friends away and you’re in danger of compromising your relationship.

You deny your addiction to work


When someone tries to tell you that’s it’s not okay to live like this, you try to explain that you just have a little more work to do lately, but you know that you’ve been working extra hours for a long time. There’s also those workaholic that try to see the good part, saying that they work a lot, but at least they have money.

You’re never proud of yourself


You’re a perfectionist, you always criticize yourself and you’re insecure of your intellectual abilities. That’s why you’re trying to prove to yourself that you’re good enough through work.

You’re not capable of relaxing


In those rare moments spent apart from your workplace, you’re stressed, tensed and always thinking. Instead of relaxing, you always have your phone in your hand, checking it and waiting stressfully for a text.

source

You hide the fact that you have a problem


It’s the most dangerous feature of a workaholic: although you might detect some severe symptoms (weight loss or gaining weight, constant headaches, nausea, dizziness, etc.), you don’t tell anybody about them and you refuse to see a doctor, telling yourself that it will pass.


DQmUsDx6pen1XAB66xGNezuiZ9RYoXEv9U98MqHzTxFV1dE_1680x8400.png

I don't think I am workaholic but I am stressed all the time about everything...

Don't forget to upvote, resteem & comment.


Thank you!

sd.png

Sort:  

Wow I think I needed this...

I almost had a very terrible exam all cos I got all my energy and time dedicated go Steemit.

Even my girlfriend Complains of not getting enough time from me. Thanks for this. Really helpful.

7 Signs You May Be A Workaholic :::

  1. You think of how you can free up more time to work.

  2. You spend much more time working than initially intended.

  3. You work in order to reduce feelings of guilt, anxiety, helplessness and/or depression.

  4. You have been told by others to cut down on work without listening to them.

  5. You become stressed if you are prohibited from working.

  6. You deprioritize hobbies, leisure activities, and/or exercise because of your work.

  7. You work so much that it has negatively influenced your health.
    Now match it and find out .....
    #collected

After reading this... now I feel as though I need a 12-step program.
Each word I read.. I saw myself. Each sentence, my head hung lower.

Yeah... you just described me to a "T".

Well, an adage says "all work and no play makes jack a dull boy". It may seems for kids, but it is also applicable to adults. Some don't even have time for family, it is work, work, work and it is telling on such a person health. It affects your reasoning and also has a pschological effect, ofcourse it can make you sick, so what do we do, make out time to relax with family and friends, some say 24hrs is not enough, that is a fallacy, just plan your time well, then you would have time to relax, play, exercise and work. It gives you more meaningful and healthy life. Thanx sir for sharing

your post is very true @jwolf let alone we want to quickly succeed

Actually learnt from this. You actually describe me, think I'll have to adjust

I wish I could be a workaholic

Be careful what you wish for. I used to want to be a workaholic; I saw how much could be done. Then I became a workaholic and got burnt out. And the burn stings.
In the short term, being immersed in your work is great, but when you loose that work/life balance, your health, happiness, and ultimately, your potential is compromised.

Most high performance coaches emphasize the need for breaks, and times to simply celebrate all the things we’ve accomplished.

Our mind, body and emotions need to recharge and restore regularly. If not, stress, disease, anxiety, and depression can creep in.

So cool. Good news

great post.......I'm impressed

Ooooh I'm worry about me. I think it's time to take some measures about this.

@jwolf mentions that many people become workaholics because they want to prove to themselves/ the world that they’re good enough.

I think that’s spot on. I listened to a lecture about how the biggest disease effecting humanity is the belief that ‘I’m not good enough’, and it made a lot of sense.

Now I’m starting to work on self worth as a means of achieving a work/life balance.

That is the key. Excelent!

Been a workaholic has lots lots of disadvantage. For me as I person, I have listened the relationship I cherished the most, lost some good friends and also never felt satisfied with my achievements as a person.

Until reading this post, I never admitted I was a workaholic.

Thanks for sharing this wonderful post @jwolf

i just love doing my work but don't have time for myself

After seeing this post, I think I will force my self to get That much needed rest because since yesterday I haven't slept due to the exam I took yesterday.
Time to get that much needed rest.
Thanks for calling me back @jwolf.