The burnout Syndrome

in #life6 years ago

Prolonged stress that becomes chronic leads to the appearing of a phenomenon with serious implications on the long term.

The burnout syndrome is considered to be the professional illness of the century, and the cases are multiplying from one year to another.

millennial.jpg
source

Most of the times, this syndrome appears out of nowhere, without us even realizing it, and it leaves us without energy and dejected.

There are a few signs that can help you recognize the burnout syndrome. The most common are the lack of motivation, a visible decrease in the level of energy, physical and mental exhaustion and a feeling of being useless at your workplace.

You can also feel frustrated, cynical and have a lot of negative emotions. Anyone can have a bad day, but when every day becomes unbearable you might suffer from the burnout syndrome.

It can also affect your ability to focus and remember things and you become a lot less productive.

Another problem is that you can have problems with other people, by entering conflicts our repress your thoughts.

Nothing satisfies you anymore, you’re unhappy with your personal and professional live and you stop taking care of yourself.

Lastly, the burnout syndrome can lead to health problems. It’s a lot like depression, only depression has a deeper root and it’s usually tied to childhood trauma.

Those who have these symptoms should re-evaluate their lives and take action to change some things.

Social contact is an antidote against stress, and simply talking to a friend or a family member can help you calm down.

Physical exercise is another remedy that will improve your state of mind immediately, and they also help you have a better sleep.

Art has a therapeutic effect on your brain, it helps you relax, it stimulates creativity and helps you find solutions faster.

A holiday can also help you detach from your workplace, to forget about emails and work problems and concentrate on the things that make you happy, and when you come back to work you’ll have a clear mind.

Lastly, you should evaluate your expectations and figure out in a realistic way what goals you can achieve and what goals are fantasy, reported to your actual state of mind.

Learn how to say “no” when it’s too much for you, stop accepting tasks at work if you know that you’ll need to put in too much of an effort to finish them on time.

Thank you for your upvote in advance!

Sort:  

Been there , Burn out is tough to deal with for sure

Hi jwolf,

Sounds like me during the end of my last job which I resigned a month ago. I was over expecting on my job performance and of course, the company wanted more sales being over greedy they were.

Appreciate you pointing out the depression...I am slowly getting out of it with 1 month of resting.

there are also some good adrenal supplements that can help with this. Humans are not designed to be under constant stress.

I regret to say that I’ve seen this before.. it’s sad to observe and I didn’t know how to help..

This is so interesting because I never knew that all those things are symptoms of Burnout syndrome. Thanks for sharing this, I love health post.

I totally can relate the same with my colleague. And I'm sending her this so that it can be beneficial.
However I always suggest her same. You have come up with great suggestions. Thanks for sharing

What a nice write up @jwolf
Saying No is one of the issue i have when ever i put in my heart doing something. Is bad but i tried to use it to kill my procrastination spirit. But is a great thing to give it a break. Which i will try to learn.

Art has a therapeutic effect on your brain, it helps you relax, it stimulates creativity and helps you find solutions faster.

This is the first time i am hearing this. Yes i am not good in art but to some extent i have been good.
@godswill

Just had a whole day break today, i was studying for the past week and I was burning out. I needed the break today and it’s true, like you said we need a break, To help refresh our minds.

I used to experience this so call burnout syndrome until I understand that the solution.
The solution is to balance ones lifestyle. Stop work and rest at when due, don't put much on yourself. Take time to socialize, have a time out with family and friends.
These are some few way of staying out of the syndrome

It's a very important information because this syndrome is more frequent than people believe. And it brings a lot of deleterious consequences. The worst of all is that it could become in lack of action.

yeah...I think I can relate.

Thanks for this! I just wrote an article about my own burnout a few days ago. I was pushing myself to finish a series of articles I had started, and finally had to give myself permission just to put it aside for a bit. I can come back to it later!