Don't Compare Yourself With Others

in #life5 years ago


A warrior who was known for his ability and integrity, went to visit a monk to ask him for advice.

When the monk had finished his prayers, the warrior asked, “Why do I feel so inferior? I have faced death many times, have defended those who are weak. Nevertheless, upon seeing you meditating, I felt that my life had absolutely no importance whatsoever.”

“Wait. Once I have attended to all those who come to see me today, I shall answer you.” – replied the monk.

The warrior spent the whole day sitting in the temple gardens, watching the people go in and out in search of advice. He saw how the monk received them all with the same patience and the same illuminated smile on his face.

At nightfall, when everyone had gone, he demanded: “Now can you teach me?”

The master invited him in and led him to his room. The full moon was shown in the sky, and the atmosphere was one that had profound tranquility.


“Do you see the moon, how beautiful it is? It gives light throughout the peaceful evening, and then tomorrow the sun will shine once again.”

“But sunlight is much brighter, and can show the details of the landscape around us: trees, mountains, clouds.”

“I have contemplated the two for years, and have never heard the moon say: why do I not shine like the sun? Is it because I am inferior?”

“Of course not.” – answered the warrior. “The moon and the sun are 2 different things; each has its own beauty. You cannot compare the two.”

“So you know the answer. Each of us are 2 different people, we cannot compare our lives with one another. We have different purpose in this world. What we can do is become the best version of ourselves and shine in our own way. ”

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://alltimeshortstories.com/shine-your-own-way/

Congratulations @jycap! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi i am Suresh. I am also upvoted you right now. I found your website is similar to my website and also readers may be much interested in : https://www.bestinmotivation.com/motivational-stories/best-motivational-story-where-we-get-the-happiness/