YANGON, THE CONVALESCENT CITY OF MYANMAR ( Original Story By Henry Aung )

in #life7 years ago (edited)

HENRY.jpg

Previously, whenever I needed to go downtown, most of the time I quickly rushed back to my home after I had done the job because I felt that the downtown was too congested and there was nothing much to explore. Most of the buildings were boxes shape and too close to each other’s. Most of the buildings were covered with patches of dark gray moss due to lack of maintenance. And the electric and telecom cables were dangling above the street like spider web. The dusty atmosphere and the noisy traffic were driving me crazy most of the time. It was totally unpleasant place to walk around the city because you might trip and fall if you are not careful your step on the pavement. Because the pavements were full with tripping hazards due to poor regular maintenance.

22222.jpg

33333.jpg

44444.jpg

The public transports were too crowded and you have to squeeze in to the crowded to get a place to stand. And you have to worship the bus attendant before you enter into a bus unless you are a gangster. Most of the bus attendants (not all) were very rude to passengers because they want more money so they compress the passenger in the bus like no human being. Air;con, it was not for the people who use the public transport in. It was really a herculean task to take the public transport during rainy days; your journey might take at least four to five hours to reach your destination because of flood. Honestly, Yangon the capital city of Myanmar was a dying city in my view. Whenever I came back from Singapore after I came out from Yangon International Airport, it always makes me feel that I am inside the movie “Walking death”.

1.jpg

6666.jpg

7777.jpg

A few days ago, I went out to downtown to meet some of the newbies steemit. To my surprised, the public bus was with Air con; and self-payment system without bus attendant. And I walked around the city hall park area; amazingly it was transformed into mini-paradise for public and totally different with previous condition. I don’t mean it is very clean and nice but much better than before. But the heavy traffic and in downtown area is still out of control especially during public holiday. The drainage systems, traffic control system and public transport systems are still major problems for the new government in Yangon, the capital city of Myanmar.

00000.jpg

99999.jpg

But I believe that with the leader who able to take responsibility, Yangon will become convalesces from dying .

This article is just my impression on Yangon city; and not related to any political issues.

Photos credit; Google Image
Henry Aung ( Kachin )

Sort:  

Thank you for this wonderful post and the photos. I am going to Yangon for a few days in August for my Thai Visa renewal. I have never been there and you have surely educated me. I'm really excited to be visiting and now I will bring shoes I don't worry about getting wet! I followed you and I will be very happy to see more posts :)

Thanks for your support.... In August ,,? still raining season in Myanmar, stay dry and don't forget to visit to Shwedagon pagoda..

I'm not sure i will get that chance. I'm staying almost next to the pagoda in the center of downtown and will probably stay in the local area except for going to the Thai Embassy. It's a very quick trip unfortunately, but I am still excited to go there.

Good at English

I will give you upvote and afollow

am a follower now =D

Welcome I will give you an UP Vote and a FOLLOW

thanks for your support

np more of this learned a lot =D

When I was in Yangon earlier this month, I saw something that was quite interesting. The roads are left hand but the cars 🚗and buses 🚌are a mix of left and right hand drive 🤣

Yes, although the road are left hand drive but the cars are both due to cars import policy issues...

If the gov there could change back the right hand drive road, Myanmar can get used bus 🚌 from Singapore to help boost up their public transportation system. New buses are way too expensive for now.

Wow.. Nice story there my friend! Thanks for sharing with us..

thanks you very much for support.......

you're welcome :) btw following you

Welcome I will give you an UP Vote and a FOLLOW

Wow! Thanks for the insight...
Great photos too...

thanks for support

😃

I got many lesson learn from your post. Grate writer and post.

Thanks for your support, actually i am not a good writer . i, myself still learning by posting.

Seems like a honestly written review of a city. Not every big city can become classy. I think all small countries should build cities embracing their own customs and cultures.

Embracing western style blindly will only result in chaos. This applies to do many cities I've lived in and is not specific to Myanmar's Yangon!

Thanks for your sharing....

Nice post! I like your writing a lot. I live in Thailand but until recently I was traveling to Yangon 1 week each month for work. I always stayed downtown very close to the green mosque that's in one of the photos. Following you!

Thanks for support.... i hope one day i can follow with you fishing ...
fish.jpg

nice fish! is there a fishing park in Yangon?

I have no idea, i don't think there have fishing pound in yangon. I took that photo in Singapore fishing pound.

ah ok. cheers!

Vote ,resteemed