You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: That Post You Almost Didn't Notice Until You Saw This Fancy Title and then Couldn't Resist Looking

in #life5 years ago

I always thought art galleries were unfair to artists because the gallery owners took such a large cut. It seems a bit like we're going to that model now. I do get that it will encourage curation but won't that reduce content creation at the same time? And things are already slow... I participate in some of the themed days. What you get from them are bit-sized glimpses into other people's lives and flora & fauna from around the world -- wonderful, since I have always believed the greatest purpose of the internet is to bring us together. I hope your pooched foot heals quickly.

Sort:  

We're still getting 100% of what's ours. A better deal to the consumer. They can invest, rather than spend and continuously burn money. Then I can go out and vote, and make up for some of these "lost" rewards. If this encourages more to buy Steem and hold it, then the value of these posts rises. I suppose the creators who don't really treat the place like a business will want to stop. Many didn't hold their tokens, so they're not in a position to earn with curation. We're all responsible for our own decisions. It's quiet now, meaning less competition and the value is low, so that means it's easier to earn more Steem. That's how many of us made thousands early on. Holding then cash out small percentages at high value times.

I like photography posts. I prefer magazine article style though, especially when voting. People buy magazines, so there's value there, in my eyes. Nobody buys a social media post. I still look from time to time but I get annoyed clicking photo post after photo post and only seeing one photo and no words. Then I look at the blog and they've been at it all day. One post with several photos and words would have been less effort, and earns more. The rest is spam and clutters up the feeds. If the site was organized better, that wouldn't be much of a problem. Some of those five minute free writes bug me. I think this response took five minutes. My post took over ten hours. Will my response earn as much as the post? Probably not! LOL!

I love doing 3-15 photo posts with write-ups. If it's travel like I did this spring, I like showing the photos and talking about them. 15 is about the limit of an attention span. Other days, I just have a couple on a subject. One of my favourite ones to look at are the short walks. It might be a hike or a walk around the neighbourhood but you get to see things unlike what you see in travel guides.

15 is probably a good number. I've noticed my art posts, when everything is put together, seems like too much all at once but it helps they've been viewed once before.

I like the photography posts a lot but for me, the photographer has to be part of the post. I always prefer personality over captions pointing out the obvious. Same with art. "Here's what I made" doesn't help me much when I don't know anything about 'I' and of course I'm not interested much in process or tutorials, since I can usually figure it out just by looking.

That's my preference. We're not all the same.