Its been a stressful day with a poorly pup. 🐶 😢

in #life4 years ago (edited)

We are getting back into a routine after the isolation, hubby back at work for his second week. He couldn't wait to get back to work then withing 2 weeks he is wishing he is off again. Sitting around doing nothing much for 12 weeks then jumping straight back into bricklaying is hard for him, he's 52, not a youngster anymore, he has to learn to take it easy. He can't wait to retire.

The weather is still really hot, thankfully there's a cool breeze. I have been in the garden having a look how things are growing, nothing needed doing just waiting for my flowers to bloom. I may plant a few more seeds as have quite a few seeds leftover, you can never have enough flowers. I have lots of Jiffy seed pots left so may fill a few more smaller pots to add to my Bee & Butterfly garden.

I have watered my plants now just waiting for bedtime too go and zip my greenhouse up for the night. I have a few trays in there that are growing but not strong enough to plant out just yet.

We have had a major incident here:

Hubby has been trying to cut the dogs nails with everywhere being closed we have to do it ourselves. I won't do it as my eye's aren't that good plus i would be really anxious. Hubby has been doing them, the 1st time he did them he did them all really well, we tried again today, unfortunately he made Luna bleed, she jumped a mile leaving a trail of blood. I managed to grab her and held her tight to stop her panicking. Hubby went to the kitchen for a bowl of flower, we stuck her paw into the flour a few times. Thankfully it stopped bleeding, she is now a lot calmer.


Luna nail cut 1.jpg

I had to do some research to make sure i was doing it correctly. I found it would be better if we used Styptic Powder. If you haven't got this you can use.

Cornstarch
Flour
Baking soda
Bar of Soap.

The flour worked, we kept her as comfortable as possible leaving her nails covered in flour, this helps to clot the blood. It took a good 30 minutes before it stopped all together. You have to put pressure on the nail to stop it bleeding, Styptic powder stops the bleeding but stings when applied which could cause your per more discomfort.


Luna nail cut 2.jpg

There was flour everywhere, i didn't mind as long as my little pup was OK. We have to keep an eye on her in case she goes into shock. I am going to give her a few treats which will help take her mind of her paw then get her to bed to sleep.

I hate it when my pups are hurt, it really upsets me seeing them in pain. Hopefully Luna sleeps all night.

Its been a stressful day, i need my bed. Night

Sort:  

I hate cutting their nails, I always manage to do it wrong. Fortunately, my friend knows how to do this and helps me. I can’t imagine how I would take 18 dogs to the groomer!