So many storms 😫 The winds are scary 😨 πŸŒ¬πŸ’¨ there is so much damage. β›ˆπŸ’¨πŸ’₯

in #life β€’ 2 years ago

We have just been through a bad storm called Storm Malik, We were forecasted 50mph winds, what we got was much worse 93mph winds and they were really scary. There has been so much damage just in my town alone so much more damage around the North East. We were scared to take the dogs out incase they were picked up and blown away.


20220130_170642.jpg

So many trees have been blown over or snapped, a 100 yr old tree in my local church grounds has been snapped in half. Roofs have blown off smashing cars. My Garden is a mess with large plant pots blown over, ny bird boxes have been pulled from the fences and damaged. Peoples rubbish is being blown into everyones gardens. Its only going to get worse.

Me & Hubby cancelled our shopping plans on Saturday as it was to dangerous to venture out. We moved our plans to today Sunday thinking the storm would have passed. We made arrangements with mum in law to do our shopping in Sunday then have Sunday lunch somewhere. We weren't expecting the news we got this morning.

We woke up this morning firstly with me cancelling as I'm not feeling too good then hubby got a phone call from his mum saying she doesn't want to go as after seeing a recent weather forecast saying we are in for another bashing with Storm Corrie bringing 90mph winds. There is going to be more damage. Becareful out there

This means more hiding under my quilt, not that my quilt is going to save me but it comforts me when the wind bashes that side of the house blowing everything that is loose around. They are advising everyone to stay home over the next 24 hours, schools are also closing. Thousands of homes have lost power and the metro service has closed. There's also been a couple of deaths with fallen trees.

The weather here gets worse every year, we get so many storms more where we used to get the odd storm every couple of years. We did used to get inches of snow but now that's changed to. We get strong winds, lots of rain, floods, and the temperature plummets quickly.

I hate Winter ive always hard Winter especially when the snow was so thick. All my friends used to go up Cleadon hills where they would use black bags to sledge down the hill,I would be there for about 30 minutes then sneak off to my grandads, he Lived very close to the hill.

This was the top of the hill where everyone used to meet, those who were lucky enough to be able to afford a sledge others with black bin bags.


Screenshot_20220130-174839_Chrome.jpg

I will be staying in trying to avoid the winds and the damage it will do, I will be concerned about hubby as he hasn't been told to stay in. He really should avoid work tomorrow with working on a building site, the winds will be blowing so much around. He may get sent home if the winds are too bad where he is working. I have had to do an online food shop as we are running low with not shopping this weekend, my order will hopefully come tomorrow as long as the supermarket vans are running.

At the moment I'm relaxing watching a film before we have to start winding down ready for bed. I'm going to be very anxious all night listening to the winds picking up speed. Another sleepless scary night. I may have to have a Whisky coffee to help me relax and hopefully sleep.

Thank you for visiting πŸ’ŸπŸ’Ÿ


hive-blog-share 5.jpg

Sort: Β 

Congratulations @karenb54! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 29
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!