The sun was out today β˜€ managed a little gardening 🌻 its been a good day 😁😁

in #life β€’ 4 years ago (edited)

We have had a beautiful day today, It's lovely to see the sun, probably the last one i will see this year as we are forecasted lots of rain tomorrow. I woke up feeling better that i was yesterday, maybe i had picked up a bug so i did a little housework, changed my bed and washed my Summer bedding. Nothing nicer than getting into bed with new clean sheets. Winter bedding now on the bed, it will probably be a warm night.

It was time to change my Sunflowers, I am drying them out so i can take the seeds ready for next year. I have de headed my last flower, that's 4 flowers drying out. Every 2 days i change there kitchen towel wrapping, give them another shake to remove the debris and any bugs that are hiding, that gets wrapped up and binned then re-wrap with new kitchen towel, this will remove the moisture from the plant.

This is my biggest Sunflower plant, the flower is shedding its petals and other matter hopefully leaving me with lots of seeds that i can plant next year. The seeds are the white part of the plant, there are so many seeds on here, i am hoping to get a few extra as a friend has asked for some for there garden next year. The bottom photo shows the loose matter that falls away.


Big Sunflower seeds2.jpg

Here is my 1st Sunflower that i cut off this year, the Seeds are darker so won't be long before i can take them for storing. Every time i open them i give them a shake removing all the dead matter leaving the seeds to dry out/


Sunflower seeds 1.jpg

When i was removing my last Sunflower head i noticed there are a few little heads trying to grow, sadly the weather changing will kill these off. I may have planted these to late in the season so next year i will be planting Sunflower Seeds first and earlier that i did last year.

This is the last head, its still got a lot of drying out to do, i will keep on with the drying method i use until i have removed all the seeds i can.


Last Sunflower 2020.jpg

I have the storage box ready and waiting for the seeds, i will have a lot more seeds this year than last...hopefully.

The next dry day i will be emptying pots, removing dead plants and storing pots away for next year. I need to get the garden cleaned, rubbish bagged and removed. I have a few Hyacinth bulbs planted that i hope flower again this year. Last year was the 1st time i had used bulbs so hoping i have followed the storing tips right then i should see a few flowers.

It's time for bed, my pups are sitting waiting for me to go to bed so they can follow. they are going to love the new bedding on the bed, they will love the warmth whereas for me it's going to be far to hot, my hot flushes see to that.


Sunflower gif 2.gif