Tips To Conserve Water!

in #life7 years ago

person-woman-smartphone-girl.jpg
We act like we have unlimited water resources, But we don't.
Eventually, if we keep wasting water, we won't have water to use anymore.
Sure it rains, and such, but unless we can figure out how to drink the ocean. We could be in trouble.
Conserving water isn't only good for the environment, but it's good for your wallet too.
We can save a lot of money over time by being careful with water.

Turn Off The Tap While Brushing Your Teeth.

This is a habit I've never understood. People leave it running the whole time they brush their teeth. That's 2 minutes straight of water going down the drain. That adds up fast!

Shower Bucket

I love this idea; Sometimes it takes a minute for your shower to warm up, So prop a bucket under the faucet and fill it as you wait for it to heat up, Reuse the water to water plants, Wash dishes, Or mop your floor.
Youcan also leaves it while you shower to collect some of the water falling.
pexels-photo-322209.jpeg

Fill Sink with water while washing dishes

You can do this to handwash, Or before putting in the dishwasher. Although I don't know how clean it is to potentially wash dishes with dirty water, maybe it's something I should just try anyways.

Wash your dog outside

That way the excess water can water your grass

Leave your pee and don't flush

My Sister and I have been doing this for a while. And its saved a lot of water overtime.
When we pee we don't flush, We just leave it.
Some people are afraid to do this because of the smell. But the smell hasn't been a problem for us Unless we pee after waking up and are dehydrated. You can always tell by the color. But by flushing less, you save money! Most people only Go number 2 Once per day, So between me and my sister that 2 flushes per day. The average person pees 7 Times a day! So that means we are saving over 14 Flushes!
That's at least 14- 28 Gallons of water PER DAY!
pexels-photo-128458.jpeg

Cut Showers Short

This can be a hard one if your a woman, Who shaves her whole body. But save your relaxing for the baths or other activities. Standing in the shower and having the water run like that adds up fast! Most people don't need to spend 30 minutes showering per day.

Shower Less

We have this obsession with showering each day. I'm one of them.
But did you know it's bad for you hair to wash it each day? If you work from home, or at an office, Showering each day may not be necessary. Obviously, if you work construction, or in a warehouse job. You'll need to shower each day.
I did a gross experiment with myself recently. I didn't shower for days. I stayed home and worked like normal. It took like four days before my hair started to get greasy, and I started to smell. For You, it might be a different number because everyone is different. But that just shows we can save money by showering less! You can always wipe yourself down with a damn washcloth too. If you are grossed out.


Sort:  

This article will come in vital in the future. Currently where im from in South Africa, we are left with less than 12% of clean drinking water and this article just reinforced how essential it is to save water. Great read!

So true!
only 12% that makes me so sad! Maybe they need to find a way to make it rain so we have more water!

There are methods of seeding rain clouds, however the environmental impacts are untested, and assumed to be quite detrimental. If they make it rain somewhere, they have to take the moisture away from another area.

This is a so important matter: Save water, reduce your consumption. Thank you for posting it.

Don't forget a rain barrel to catch free water!

LOVE THIS ONE! Heheh :)

If it's yellow, let it mellow. If it's brown, flush it down.

Love that quote hehe.

@kaylinart.... you looks very beauty

Thank you! I wish I could take credit, But thats not me. Just a stock photo.

A good theme, in today's global crisis era. We must save water, stop illegal logging, stop planting palm, it's a big disaster for us the world community.

For those of us living in the Western Hemisphere (especially in the U.S.), continuous access to running water is something we always take for granted. While chilling overseas, I find that I have to force myself to turn off the faucet whenever I am brushing my teeth or else I get that look:

Death_Glare_by_FreakKAT2.jpg

I'm glad you are being taught to make more of an effort on that LOL.
I feel like in the U.S. We are extra wasteful. It's good that people around the world take the usage more seriously.

Exactly, tell me about it. No really, tell me about it - I just took a 30 minute hot shower! My bad @kaylinart......I think another overseas trip will whip me into shape! After all, there's no better teacher than experience ;)

Very nice post. Water conservation is a very important thing. Considering that you know most of the Earth's water is not drinkable in the first place. Lol. So keeping as much of what we have is super crucial. I live in the desert so I definitely appreciate water. Thank you.

Thank you! It truly is. I live in the desert too. Hopefully people will learn how to conserve better.

I'm sure someday they won't have a choice. Hopefully not the case but these things can happen.

It's easy to take water for granted, until you run out.

Exactly! It's sad that so many people are taking it for granted.

I like women that shave their whole body, so I'll conserve extra water for them each day. Gotta do my part! 😂

LMAO! Thank you :)
XDD Us women appreciate that! LOL.

You're welcome! 😹

Thanks for the valuable post. I read your several articles. You are so energetic and practical lady. Today's world needs more from you and your type of women. I salute you and your talent. Upvoted.

Thank you so much ehehe!! I appreciate the support.

Most welcome. I like your post. You are also so beautiful. Thanks.

Was just realizing this the other day "Turn Off The Tap While Brushing Your Teeth" so this will be my first point of attention.

Aww! I'm glad you started doing that.

Good reminder. We al need water.

Thank you :)

Great post about water @kaylinart, i remember to some of my research that no one of expert can make/create water, but they only can change a from some phase to other phase, or conditioned from a elements to other compound (chemical atom)

You may want to be cautious in using gray water on garden plants, especially those intended for food. Depending on the concentration and toxicity of the soap and other compounds in the household water, it may have a detrimental effect on the plant's oils/lipids and the beneficial microbes that help to keep it healthy. That being said, if you're in a severe drought of record this may be your best option.

You can also run the water through a raised rain barrel full of various soil grades with some hearty reed plants grown on top. These will act as a bio-buffer to improve the water quality before it passes into a collection vessel underneath. I guess it depends on how much time/effort/money/craftsmanship you feel like putting into it.

Nice picture! Great article.

All good ways to conserve water. I am here in California where there are limits to how much water you should use. I always keep a bowl in the sink. So I catch the water I use to wash my face or shave. I been doing that with no soap as soap is bad for plants. I use that water to water trees in the yard.

  1. reuse water from washing rice or other foods for either washing clothes or flushing the toilet

  2. Don't run the hose while washing your car

  3. Check pipes for leakage =D

Great tips Kaylin, I learned some new stuff.

You ever hear about the military shower? You turn the water on for about 20 seconds to get your body wet, then turn it off. Lather up your whole body, then use a maximum of 40 seconds washing the soap off.

It is called the military shower because in remote bases and navy ships water is conserved. I have been doing this for years, and combined with skipping a few days here and there equals massive savings. Both saving the enviornment AND your wallet.

Nice picture