What Makes Us An Adult?

in #life8 years ago

Millennials are often frowned upon. Many of us live at home and are somewhat childish. Coloring, Playing games. We don't appear as independent as we could be. Many child psychologists are still seeing people from 0-25, instead of the usual 0-18.

Who do we blame for this? The lazy millennials? Or the parents?
It's also known that many parents have spent a good amount of time babying their millennial.
I wasn't even allowed to go to my friend house as a kid. My parents were too scared I'd get kidnapped or hurt. This was reaccurring, I wasn't allowed to cross the street on my own until I was 12. It seemed a bit silly.

This sheltering, While the parents had good intentions. Somewhat caused us to "not' grow up. We are still in the process of learning and growing even though the move-out and be "free" year had already come and gone. I honestly wouldn't have been able to survive if I left at age 18. But is this so bad? Maybe parents can spend more time teaching driving skills, financial skills, and relationship skills while the adult lives at home, So they'll be better prepared when they leave.

Are the choices available to blame?

These days, We don't' have to get some job, Work there, our whole lives. Then get married at a certain age, and start having kids. Our lives aren't as "structured" As a woman, I'm not destined to be a stay at home mother, Heck. I don't even have to have kids at all if I choose. Many millennials don't even want to get married; They see it as a waste. These days we are full of choices, The man and woman can work and provide. You can have kids or travel instead; You can start your own business. The opportunities are endless. College or no college? All of these choices may have slowed our independence Because we have to make choices for ourselves. We have to decide what we want out of this life; It's not some blueprint that we must follow. This is intimidating, Plus we didn't spend our whole lives preparing for this, It's a new thing!

When do we become an "adult." Is it when we are financially stable? Out of our parents? When we hit a certain age? It's a complicated question these days. Maybe "adulthood" is a different answer for everyone. Many people complain that millennials haven't "grown up." But it's a mix of reasons. Blaming the millennial entirely and not the parents or society seems unfair.

Sort:  

Resteemed

Thank you :)

Me too. I also shared it on gab.ai

I read this not knowing it was yours and then realized it was you once I saw your comments. Great article Lin! Loved it!

LOL Thank you :) hhaha!

I'm generation X. The similar things were said of us. My generation came back home after college (or least I did for a little while). We were called lazy, and slackers. Which was a term at the time.

My parents are baby-boomers, they were the hippie flower people. They were not liked by the previous generation. That just seems to be how it goes.

Gen-Xers didn't have the obvious options to not work at a normal job, as your generation does. We just knew we didn't want to work 40 years.

I didn't get married have kids until my 30s, which became more normal for my generation, and is normal for yours.

There was a lot of discussion on how to communicate with Gen Xer's in the workforce, just as I see for millennials.

What your generation has that mine did not have in their 20's was more options to make money online. Ebay, which is old now, was radical and game changing in 1995. I made money in graduate school from eBay. And people made fun of me for it. Now people wouldn't blink at making money online.

I also started my freelance video work in 01. Some people made fun of me for it, calling it a "hobby". Never mind the fact, it brought me cold hard cash. Now-a-days that would be called your gig or side-hustle, and wouldn't blink an eye about it. That's a difference I notice.

I work with several people your age as teachers, they're just fine.

In 15 years you'll notice people complaining about the useless generation behind you.

That just seems to be how it goes. One generation complains about the next.

Shared on twitter

Steem_Land Steemland.com tweeted @ 25 Nov 2016 - 23:46 UTC

What Makes Us An Adult? — Steemit steemit.com/life/@kaylinar…
@SteemUps @SteemitPosts @steemit @steemiobot

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Thank you so much!

You are most welcome!

I'm working to avoid it.

When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things