A Day in the Meadows

in #life7 years ago

Yesterday was a rather excellent day if truth be told. Exams are finally over, so I thought to myself “Well, now I’m finally free to do some bushcraft”. I had been hungering for the woods for a while now but the perpetual onslaught of exams always stopped me from 'going thither' as Shakespeare might put it. But no longer! I was finally free and nothing was going to stop me from enjoying my newfound freedom in my favourite meadows, about a mile away from where I’m currently living.

However, I had been packing all my relevant supplies and such (pocket knife, saw, flint and steel etc) when my dearest friend, Daniel (who I’m still in the process of inviting to Steemit), asked me if I wanted to hang out. As much as I wanted to sit by the fire with a guitar in hand, thinking about my life, I made the sacrifice. Despite my disappointment, the day was still bloody awesome! Five of us ended up playing a game of manhunt in the fields and woods.

kyledaniel.jpg

A picture of Daniel and I in our hiding space (high up in a tree)during the first game. We were forced to separate a bit later however

For anyone who isn’t familiar to the beautiful game that is manhunt, it’s comprised of a team of hunters and hiders. The hiders are given a set amount of time to run and hide; and it is the job of the hunters to find and ‘tag’ them, which is just tapping them on the back. This game filled up about 75% of my entire childhood so the nostalgia was high and life was generally awesome (apart from being a lot taller now, and finding it a lot harder to fit into some of the places that I used to!).

meadow.jpg

A photo of the meadow from up in our tree. Sadly the foliage was so dense that the view was a bit restricted but oh well

People may have called us childish if they had seen us, but we didn’t care! It was an absolute laugh. Especially considering half of us now have to spend more time studying than walking (I wish I was joking) which means most aren’t quite as fit as they used to be. Thankfully, I manage to get in a few hours of exercise per week so I was at a massive advantage and won the first game.

leg.jpg

I don't know why I thought this was a good idea at the time but here is a photo of the ground from where we were (pretty high up) and also my leg for whatever reason

The rest of the day consisted of ‘cracking open a cold one with the boys’ (which I sadly forgot to take any photos of), and although alcohol has never really appealed to me there is certainly something special about putting your feet up after being physically exhausted and having a good ol’ chat and laugh with your dearest friends. It’s those kind of moments that won’t change your life that much but you’ll remember them till the day you die anyway. And I hope indeed that I do.

Anyways, this post may have arguably been a bit pointless but I enjoyed living it and then writing it. My apologies for the lack of many photos: I was so caught up in the game that if I had taken my phone out I would’ve been caught!

Thank you, anyone who takes the time to read this through :) It means a lot. Later today, I shall be making a continuation to my previous post about effective learning and I also may get around to doing another of the Euler problems. But for now, adios :)