You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Do People Play the Lottery?

in #life6 years ago

The reason people play the lottery is everyone wants to go to that promise land, which always seems so close (in proximity, at least), but so very far.

Most people in this world are starving. The ones who are “better off” are in debt or living paycheck to paycheck. This is how the power structures of the world want things to be, and they’re happy to host lotteries every few days to get us to keep our heads down, not question, and hope for a better tomorrow.

It’s important that we not criticize each other for being ‘stupid’. We the people have the power to flourish, if only we realized that. It’s up to you and me to talk to our friends and family, and to get us there.

Something tells me we’re getting close.

Sort:  

that's fair enough, I was mostly being facetious
I think it's not so much that lotteries are a grand conspiracy to keep us quiet as more of an open way to tax people that are less well off which is annoying to me

Well, I’d say it’s both. Two birds, right! I think most people who play inherently know the odds, but do feel trapped and use it as desperation/hope. And I can empathize with why they do.

I understood your facetiousness, and your article was well written and I should have included that in my original comment. I just had another perspective to add!