You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vlog 318: Voting bots or promotional services have their place on the blockchain for now.

in #life6 years ago

I actually only use resteem services to gain followers. I see it as a small investment with the ultimate goal of obtaining a little visibility of my posts. I have bad experiences with voting bots (ethically, it just didn't feel right).

The feeling started when I realized that more than half of my followers are probably bots (man, I was so naive). you can imagine how demotivating this felt. You become skeptical. You see hundreds of posts coming back with the same message: how do you become successful on Steemit? Give me 1 SBD and I will resteem your post. How do you increase your visibility? Etc. Everything centered around one specific word: money. Money is what brings people together here. And then I ask myself the question: aren’t we creating the devil himself? Innocent looking 'likes' already have such a huge impact on society. Replace those 'likes' with the word 'money' and you get a very dangerous combination.

But then you realize that you only have a bad day and that a lot of good happens on this platform. You just have to use it in the right way. There are tons of creative, loving, respectful and smart people here. You just have to find them.