Night Spider Web!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

The Night Spider Web

IMG_20180531_234010.jpg

The ultimate "This wasn't here a minute ago"!

IMG_20180531_233833.jpg

This is literally all you could see when I walked out onto my porch.

I was enjoying the cool night air and stretching my legs a bit when I noticed something strange behind my chair. In the corner of my gazebo was a hanging little bug. I quickly realized it was a spider, not a bug, and backed away carefully.

Now I'm not really afraid of spiders though they do give me the heeby-geebies. I'm more curious about them than scared so I crept back so I wouldn't startle him (and myself) and snapped a picture with my phone.

I didn't realize the flash wasn't on so the ambient light reflecting off of the spider and a few strands was all I could see. So imagine my surprise at the next picture I took with the flash on!

IMG_20180531_234057.jpg

It was AMAZING!

And a little nerve-wreaking at the same time.

The web itself was over three feet in diameter, the spider itself being about the size of a half-dollar!

Needless to say, I used the zoom for the last picture.

IMG_20180531_234010.jpg

I really wish I would have taken more pictures but I'm really glad I worked up the nerve to take these.

It really is incredible how these little things work. In less than one hour, the time I took to watch a show and come back out to the porch, this little spider had time to spin this amazing web and in a good place, by the look of the flies they had already caught.

Spiders really are clever and quick creatures! Charllote would be proud, no doubts!

Needless to say, I left that spider just where they were. They were helping me with the bugs so I saw no reason to be rid of them.

Good luck, little spider!

Sort:  

Congratulations @kimberlyann! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @kimberlyann! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!