Martial Arts Promotion Sparring - Tang Soo Do / Tae Kwon Do

in #life6 years ago


This was the "Sparring" segment during a Testing Promotion. I was a Brown belt testing for my Red belt on October 1, 2016. I have been taking Martial Arts since I was 6 years old. As of today, I am a Deputy Black Belt scheduled to test for my Black belt within a year.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

good.

Thank you for watching and taking the time to comment

I can't get your video to play, or I'd love to watch it. I've tried for a few days and no luck. Is it posted anywhere else I could try to watch. My brother and I both took Tae Kwon Do as kids. I only ever made it to green belt because my parents couldn't afford to send both of us. We grew up with very little money. We farmed and that's where almost all our food came from. Money was just always scarce. My brother is older and had been doing it longer and was a brown belt so I quit voluntarily because they wanted it to be fair and us both quit. I had to beg them to let him stay in. He was so close to getting his black belt, I didn't want to see him fail. ( I even had my grandma give me some of my savings money she held for me and gave it to our Sensei and asked him not to tell my mom or brother. He said he would honour that request and just told them that a former student had paid for my brother for a month.) He also matched my contribution and in that 2 months my brother was able to test a receive his black belt. Life is about sacrifice and love. Maybe some day I can get back in it and go for the black.(Get it, instead of go for the gold?). ::) All our love to all of you great people.

You are a great man John. My dad grew up with very little money also and could not finish to get his black belt. He is now 50 and doing the things he never got to do as a child or could not afford. So you see, you are never too old to learn and venture into new things. God Bless you and your family!

Thank you for the kind words. I have always said,"children grow to be the end result of their upbringing and their environment." It is because of your father and mother and the people that are around you, that you will grow into a wonderful person. Just continue to love and always look for the positive things in life.... And listen to your parents! 😁