Getting My Professional Title as An Architect and Back to Blogging

in #life10 months ago

Back to blogging on HIVE! Been away for like years, just resuming my casual blog here.

Finally, passed my final stage of the architecture professional examination and got myself the title "Ar"!

Really out of the blue this afternoon, saw the email notification stating "keputusan peperiksaan" and my heart started to pump harder. Get the PDF loaded, and saw the "Lulus" word which concurrently gave me a sense of relief and excitement. Relieved that my 7 years journey of practicing and studying professionally as an architect has paid off.

Along the way, there were obstacles and self-doubt moments about whether I wanted to continue this journey or not. It really took quite a lot of determination and support from friends and family. So here goes my grateful journal:

Thank you to En Ji Liew my wife who constantly reminded me about why I started this journey and this could potentially bring value to what I am currently doing. At the same time, thanks to my parents and in-laws who were there to support me when I failed my both papers and then paper 1.

Also wanna thank my mentors Ar. Azizul Azwar Abd Aziz who guided me during the early preparation, Samsiah Abdullah who taught professional practice during part2 journey, Mei Chee Seong Ir. Justin Lai my ex-bosses who gave me insight into professional practice, Chin Keng Ho my team lead who selflessly guided me, Abdul Halim my supervisor who is always encouraging, Adrian Swea who gave me the word of confident and link me up with Brian Tang (currently my 10XCEOs Strategy Coaching team lead and a great mentor) and Khor Kai Fu (who helped me to stay back on track, completing what I started).

So now, what's next? To me, being a business strategy coach and at the same time entrepreneur, I think the role of an architect will help in many ways. I would think that my professional skill like understanding building by-laws and statutory acts, feasibility studies for business set up especially involving building premises and also dealing with local authorities for submissions/approvals are a booster for my current role. Not only I can add value to my current role and businesses but also potentially give more values to my clients as well.

Looking forward to more opportunities ahead!LAM P3 Passing