Living the Dream through Prophesies: When Dreams Predict Your Reality

in #life5 years ago

I often tell people that if they want a good scare, they only need to read about my life and what I've experienced. The paranormal is just one aspect that will make people's hair stand on end. I am new to Steemit, so I'm not sure what you're interested in reading. However, I am tired of not talking about the paranormal and supernatural occurrences that I have experienced in this lifetime. I am sick of being afraid of what people will think when I tell them of all of the events as they occurred. So, this is what I am going to write about, for starters. If you think this is bad, wait until you read about my non-paranormal experiences. I have to wait for more people to die in order to talk about those. What has occurred at the hands of man is far scarier in my eyes. I'll just begin with the supernatural and see where it goes. (The rhyme was not intentional. I'll try not to do it very often).

When I was little, I had prophetic dreams. I forgot them all, but I found out recently that my sister told my husband that I would tell her about a dream and it would happen.

There was one dream I do remember. It was more symbolic, but when I realized what was going on in my life ten years later, I was living the dream.

I dreamed that I was on Long Beach, Long Island. I have some pretty bad memories from my childhood, but going to the beach was always full of good memories. We would drive the hour to Long Beach from Westchester County, New York. We would arrive before the sand burned our feet too badly and put out our blankets and umbrella by the ocean where the sand remained damp and cool. We would swim out to where the waves would form and body surf to ride them in. We begged my father to buy us Italian ices and pizza. The boardwalk sprawled out behind us, stretching as endlessly as the shoreline in front of us, broken only by the boulders that partitioned the beach off into sections. The sea stars would congregate on the rocks, and the sand crabs would burrow into the sand seeking refuge and food, until all of us rotten little kids would dig them up for fun.

In my dream, I was playing in the sand at our favorite beach spot building sand castles. I got up and walked to the neighboring section of the beach, climbing the boulders into the next section. On that beach, there were green aliens. Yep, the typical aliens, bright green and large black eyes. These were alien children, though, so they had nice pails and shovels to play with, and they invited me to build sand castles with them. I agreed and played with them for a little while. It was getting late, and I didn't want my parents to worry, so I said my goodbyes and took my leave.

I walked across the beach to the small boulder wall, and instead of the few boulders I had to climb over, there was a large wall. I climbed over that wall, and instead of finding people and my family, I found more aliens.

I walked down the beach to the next section, and there was another wall. I climbed over that one.

More aliens.

This cycled in my dreams ten times before I woke up in a panic, relieved that I was in my bed instead of at the beach.

Ten years later, I was off to college. My parents were in the middle of splitting up.

When I arrived back home, everything was different. My mother was gone, my father was a drunken mess, and my sister was angry and preppy. I realized that I was trying to get back to the familiar, the beach I was originally at, but I would never find it again. And, I did not. My parents remained split, and my understanding of my family has been altered forever.

True, the dream was highly symbolic. I've heard many people say that dreams can be interpreted any number of ways. When I realized the truth of that dream, I was not 100% convinced myself.

The more I tried to deny my dreams, the stronger they became.

I will keep blogging about my dreams and all of the rest of my paranormal experiences here on Steemit. I only write the truth, even when I write fiction. You may believe all of it, or none of it. That's not my concern. I hope to reach the people who are curious and who might be experiencing some of this themselves, including the people who might even want to have dreams like this.

Next time, I will write how the dreams moved from symbolism to literal dreams.

Sweet dreams...

...or not.

Sort:  

Congratulations @kirstengschuder! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!