Robotophobia

in #life7 years ago

I am not afraid of robots. I actually look forward to having them serve me. I appreciate that they can make automobiles and take space walks. I read about one today that will do backflips and stick the landing like an Olympic gold medalist. I don’t need a flippin’ robot. I want one that vacuums expertly - not like the circular ones making clunky efforts at cleaning floors now. I want one that empties the dishwasher AND put the dishes away into their proper cabinets - not like my partner who will take the dishes out of the dishwasher, but then just sets them higgledy-piggledy on the counter and does this only under duress. I want a robot that makes beds and perhaps makes dinner.

Happily, I am retired so I have no worries about a robot taking my job. Robots don’t drink coffee, read The New York Times, and post on Steemit. They just build cars, right?

Surely there is no need to fear robots. They come with on/ off switches, don’t they? Turn it off or unplug it if it threatens you. Or tell it to go into a closet and shut the door behind it if it runs on solar power. Humans still rule. Right?