You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What It's Like Living with Prosopagnosia (Face Blindness)

in #life7 years ago

Nice post :) I suspect that I started slowly develop prosopagnosia and my theory is that we are surrounded with so much things to memorize and focus on that our brain simply doesn't consider it important to remember faces unless they are repeatedly being seen. But I don't know this is just my theory :)

Sort:  

Oh definitely! We are bombarded with so many things these days, I'm sure it could be partly a coping mechanism for some people. Not sure that's the case for me. Even if someone I've known for years gets a haircut or shaves off their facial hair and I see them in an unexpected place, I'm hard pressed to recognize them. (Unless they were to come up and start talking to me and give other context clues.)