Living in Reverence

in #life7 years ago

What is reverence? Defined in the Webster Dictionary as a level of deep respect and stemming as far back at the 14th century reverence is one of those words where I heard growing up but never truly overstood what it entailed. Was it the respect that I had for my teacher or maybe my pastor? Better yet, the respect that I had for my parents. Was it okay to only identify myself with this word when it suited me best?

I came across this word once again while reading the book The Seat of the Soul ( A very great book if I must say so myself!) by Gary Zukav. I flew over this word the first time that I read it but then I realized there was a whole chapter geared towards this topic. So I took my time and slowed down my reading so that I can overstand this word better.

IT IS MUCH MORE THAN MERE RESPECT!

Explained by Gary, reverence is much more than a deep respect, it is the complete recognition of the life sources all around us, from the grass we walk on to the rays that touch our face during the daytime. Reverence is honoring the beauty that is life and recognizing the importance in its entirety. It is about contacting and then connecting to the very essence o the life source. Whew! this was deep and I loved the insight that it gave in helping me to see that we are all connected in one way or the other. I am not just talking about the human species but about all that is on this planet all that carries its own essence.

We all need each other to survive! There are many things that we can learn from each other once we let go of that ego and need for external power. We should seek to govern Self instead of those around us...but that's for another post :)

So lets honor the essence that is! Let us connect and inspire the oneness that is us. Seeking to help with no personal gains, to love with no selfish reasons and to learn with the desire to reach a higher level of consciousness.

Peach and Love