You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will AI and Robotics Create a New Form of Slavery? (Part 1 - Humans as Masters)

in #life8 years ago

I agree with all your ethical considerations, given the premise that we can create sentience.
However, I belive strongly that we cannot, and the fact is that the question is not technological but philosophical. It is something that is debated in the philosophy of mind.
Beliveving that sentience can be created presupposes physicalism and furtermore functionalism.
These are theories, not facts, and furthermore theories that I believe are wrong. The main problem is the explanatory gap, which I rather se as a chasm that you cannot cross.

Sort:  

AI is getting rather good now. Compared to what it was when I was younger. Not sure if it will ever become totally aware. Yet as micro tech gets smaller and smaller. the possibilities are gaining at a faster level of momentum.

I think there is no way to know for sure. We will just have to see the future will be here before we all know it.

Very intelligent points. You may well be right. I don't know for sure as I tend to switch sides on this debate quite frequently. Thanks for the links too. The explanatory gap is not a term I was familiar with but the concept is something I have read about multiple times - this is useful reading:)