How 200 calories looks in different foods

in #life7 years ago

0namirnice.jpg

We all know that some foods have much higher calorie content than others, but this knowledge gets a whole new meaning when we see how a certain amount of calories looks on the plate. The wiseGEEK website has tried to display 200 calories in a picturesque way and the result is a fascinating - visual display of calorie value in more than 70 foods.

All the pictures were photographed with the same camera on a plate that was 26 inches in diameter and a bowl that was 16 inches in diameter.

source: http://www.wisegeek.com/what-does-200-calories-look-like.htm

celer.jpg

Celer / 1425 grams = 200 calories

brokule.jpg

Broccoli / 588 grams = 200 calories

mrkve.jpg

Carrots / 570 grams = 200 calories

coca-cola.jpg

Coca Cola / 496 ml = 200 calories

crveni-luk.jpg

Red onion / 475 grams = 200 calories

jabuke.jpg

Apples / 385 grams = 200 calories

grasak.jpg

Peas / 357 grams = 200 calories

mlijeko.jpg

Milk / 333 ml = 200 calories

grozde.jpg

Grapes / 290 grams = 200 calories

kecap.jpg

Ketchup / 226 grams = 200 calories

jaja.jpg

Eggs / 150 grams = 200 calories

tunjevina.jpg

Conserved tuna in oil / 102 grams = 200 calories

Cheeseburger.jpg

Cheeseburger / 75 grams = 200 calories

pomfrit.jpg

French fries / 73 grams = 200 calories

lizala.jpg

Lollipop / 68 grams = 200 calories

hrenovke.jpg

Hot dogs / 66 grams = 200 calories

brasno.jpg

Wheat flour / 55 grams = 200 calories

gumeni-bomboni.jpg

Gummy bears / 51 gram = 200 calories

cips.jpg

Chips / 37 grams = 200 calories

kikiriki-puter.jpg

Peanut butter / 34 grams = 200 calories

puter.jpg

Butter / 28 grams = 200 calories

Thank you for reading! If you like please upvote and follow @krispee

Sort:  

Omg....it put things into perspective when you have a visualization. We know to eat healthy and we know we should exercise and I am working of getting back to healthy but what people don't understand is how to do that.

Going to the gym is boring and for people who are not used to working out consistently, its really discouraging. Or you have people who stare or make faces when you do workout.

I have a friend who is large and she is jugged a lot when we go out to eat. Once she ordered a lot of food and the waiter wanted to say something when she ordered desert. But she ate half that food and she wanted to box the rest of it so she didn't have to cook later. We laughed it off at first but those small things really do matter.

I go swimming for free, FREE at my local pool and I have to mentally prep myself because the stairs are made for kids so I have to forced myself through them. I'm 28 so I refuse to use the chair lift and it can be so uncomfortable. I love swimming and its a free workout but people at the drive thru don't make it obvious they judge.

Thank you for a visual because instead of saying oh loose weight, you are showing us how little we are getting for our money. Because we don't have to eat less we can just eat the right foods and a lot of it.

You can tell people what they should do and how they should do it and we know it but we don't know how to stay consistent or why when we feel fine.

Restaurants post their calories now we don't see what we are eating, we just like it because it taste good and we think we cant get healthy by cutting down on the fast food and drinking more water and add 2 servings of veggies to our diet a week and I am serious about that.

Thank you for sharing your point. I agree with you, calories are only general way of measuring food intake but they do not show how nutrient rich those foods are. If you see from pictures above, all vegetables are very low in calories and that means that you can eat tons of that (unfortunately I should have post more green foods), also they are nutrient rich meaning your body utilize it all in right places . Also you got that feeling of fullness. There is one great book on food I am currently reading , it's called "Eat to Live" by Joel Fuhrman, I am blown out by this book so recommend it.

I can tell you my personal experience on food and gym. I have been going to gym for last 8 months and it has been very enriching experience. I try to watch what I eat, meaning looking at calories + looking at nutrient quality (if has empty nutrient like bread or rich like oatmeal for example) and as I am trying to lose weight I don't eat more than 1700 calories - 2000,2500 is my maintenance depending on day. Also I am doing intermittent fasting (eating only in window 2pm-8pm) except weekends and I am rewarding myself every weekend with cheat day(typically sunday) when I eat whatever I want and as much I want. I go to gym 3-6 times a week, depending on week and in last six month doing this I have lost 12 kg. Also I got a lot of muscle in that period since I never trained any sport . Now I feel really good, in all ways and my current goal is to cut my body fat to 10%.

Well for your friend my best advice is to meditate. Why meditate? Because when you eat and you can eat a lot you are probably not connected with your body, you are not listening to your body telling you that you are full. When you meditate it gets you more to present and it focuses your thought on present. I had and still from time to time have this problem because it became internalized. When I was little I was throught the day eating what I found in fridge and sometimes there wasn't much. I did have only dinner during week because my parents were working all day so as I was growing older and my parents were making more money, there was more food in the house and I would usually eat as much as I can because my memory from past was telling me that who knows if tomorrow will be food. It is always easy to say what to do but taking action and doing it is hard. I recommend eating healthy and Exercising because with exercising you can more food than usual and still lose weight.

I'm going o look into that book for sure. Thanks for the talk. And post of course.

Thamks for sharing
Upvoted for gid content
Steem on
Followed

Very interesting, I am going to have a lot of broccoli tonight... with butter. :)

Without butter is better ;)