"Are you beach body ready?" Media stop body shaming us!

in #life7 years ago

a9fbb47d66d20c57f17d761b25e988b0.jpg
In the 21st century, as a woman in her late twenties I am so tired of this question! Am I the only one? I think that we need to fix each others crowns, and support each other. Women are going through so much in their lives. We don't need the media to tell us that we are not beach body ready for the summer! We have panic attacks, and we don't feel comfortable in our skin because the media is telling us every day that we are not pretty enough, or fit enough. Why the media doesn't body shame the men? Has anyone thought about that? There are no commercials for men, and for their beer belly, but for cellulites the TV commercials are full of them, magazines, internet sites, health magazines. You name them. You look at celebrities and they look so flawless, but it is all photoshopped. It's not realistic.
076da24bee39ea319752ee9bf11374f7--celebrity-cellulite-over-weight.jpg
Having cellulite doesn't make us less pretty. 95% of women have some kind of cellulite!
So girls, go to the beach, relax, drink that cocktail 🍹, have fun! Love yourself as the goddess you are.
c91d939e6de889fe4ef856031a2b67f1.jpg

Leave a comment! Tell me what you think! 😊❤

Sort:  

The Media creates content that people engage with and advertisers subsequently purchase advertising. The type of content and ads that are created are in response to user engagement and the value captured. It is a positive feedback loop. For the most part, "The Media" has no other agenda than revenue and profit.

People should live their life in whatever way they choose provided it does not cause harm to others. If the outcome of their lifestyle choices is being supremely fit with a low-body fat %, or curvy with a high body-fat %, that outcome is the personal choice of the individual. Cross judgments between these groups - either group claiming they are being shamed - is just a knee jerk egoic response. There should be no realistic expectation that The Media would or should show any preference for one set of life choices over another, since there is no righteous choice.

So take it for what it is - publishers trying to make money from advertising. The Media doesn't care what you look like and any feelings you might have are your own responsibility.

Why would you for a moment think media doesn't shame men's bodies, that they don't idolize these 180+ cm tall with 6 pack apollos? I'm an average male guy which doesn't spend all his time at workout trying to impress people, no I put my energy in work to have my bills paid yet sum fucks out in internet/tv saying I should have body like them? We feel it the same way as you do!

I'm not native english speaker, so please forgive my grammar.

Women’s bodies have always been subject to control by men’s desires and fantasies, all through history. But now women are body shaming other women. Have you ever been called fat by another male friend, told that you need to lose weight or mocked by a person from your colleague? You see I am in to fitness, and believe me I know from first hand that women are being more body shamed than men.

Don't pretend you know what I felt. Once I was fat and not fat in meaning wide and big, but relatively small yet round and unproportionate body, I hated myself, no one wanted to stay around, I never was invited to anything, and of course no girl ever wanted to have me as a company, I missed everything in my teen age, everything which would make me up as a person, a man, instead I got myself locked up and hardly talked to people, even after all these years I still have problem speaking with people, I still feel depression's leftovers when I'm being alone at home. And I hated media showing perfect male body, asking "you ready for the summer?", shit, years passed I did put hard work on that yet I'm not a nearly that handsome as media taught I must be every fucking year!!