Popcorn machine at work

in #life4 years ago

Popcorn is one of my favorites. Not sure where I last saw a portable popcorn machine, but something triggered that memory. So much so, I brought it up to our leadership team.

First, I pitched it as something we put on our dream list. Then I turned it into what would it take, individually, as a team, department, etc... He said he would get back to me. I felt confident. I asked for a number, a number he would give, and hopefully, this number would make my popping dream come true.

Whatever, I'm just curious at this point.

Picture Source: Pixabay

Dreaming of popcorn...

Buying snacks for work is a necessity. Especially when you're talking on the phone all day. After a couple of hours, you need to refuel. To continue being less wasteful, I've tried packing snacks that aren't wrapped in plastic. This has worked almost great, but the bags of popcorn are always individually wrapped. Makes no sense!
Do you guys know of an alternative to making popcorn in the office?

Get a popcorn machine, yells someone from across the interweb...

I hear you! Today that same person, the one I pitched the idea too, came back with a number. Well, a cost and a big maybe!

  • The popcorn machines aren't as expensive as I thought it would be, he said. (YEAH)
  • We are first working on getting an upgraded coffee machine and making the 2nd kitchen into a cafe. Which would make for a great place to put the machine. If it isn't...

Killing the Dream...

As I am jumping with joy, envisioning all the popcorn I would soon be consuming, he hits me the following.

  • The popcorn machine price isn't the problem its the oil. I think it might be a fire hazard.
  • We can't have it, if it is, because they won't allow us to have one. They being the building owners, I think?
  • If it isn't a fire hazard then the following cannot be an issue either. Maintenance/upkeep and cleaning it.

Not willing to jump up and volunteer to clean after my messy coworkers, I sat silent less jumpy with excitement. One of my favorite coworkers notices my disappointment and quickly comes to my rescue.

Saving the dream...

Chris says, "Then again it's not that expensive and would be a great investment for the office." Lots of shaking of the heads in agreement. My jumping increases. The guy looking into it walks away confident he can make it happen. My coworker is a stud and I wait in anticipation.

I'll keep you kids updated. I think this will happen before the end of the year. Which will make an excellent work anniversary gift. Speaking of which, Superbowl is coming up, as is Valentine's day. What wild plans do you have for the big days to come?

Small steps towards the dream. Giant leaps into the popcorn pool

Thanks for reading, upvoting, and commenting!

Love always,

PS it's my best friends birthday! We took this picture over 11 years ago when we first met.



Sort:  

Parabéns, seu post foi selecionado pelo projeto Brazilian Power, cuja meta é incentivar a criação de mais conteúdo de qualidade, conectando a comunidade brasileira e melhorando as recompensas no Steemit. Obrigado!

footer-comentarios-2.jpg

Not planning anything for the Hallmark card day or the sport thing because I'm a boring little humbug XD

Do the air popping things need oil? Hope you get your popcorn machine :)

I suggested the air popcorn machine and somehow he understood air fryer. So who knows what I might end up with.

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment