Pocket Change

in #life7 years ago

Here I am Traveling again

image

image

Just back from trips to Taiwan, Canada, Argentina and Chile... writing this on a plane back from Switzerland... before Barcelona.

I always travel with the pictured pocket change... you know, just in case! There are three Gold coins, 2 1/4 oz, one 1/2 oz. Also included are three 90% silver coins, one 1/4 and two 1/10.

As you can see I carry them in a pouch, wrapped in plastic wrap. This is two avoid clanking of the coins (as it sounds like real money) and to avoid scratching. I don't personally care about the coins scratching, as they were purchased for this use, but it would be more appealing for a recipient.

The amount of one full OZ of gold was predetermined, the Silver was arbitrary in quantity (for smaller barter needs).

These are hands down (in my opinion), the best security for travel as the coins are easily sold anywhere... or if that "NEED" arises barter your ass back home.

Cashless Society

Now we all know we are moving to become a cashless society. This will make it easier for officialdom to find these coins. As if we are cashless, nobody will even have pocket change to obscure the airport scanners and monetary transport.

Digital Assets

image

So when we go completely cashless and my emergency travel stash becomes easily found and confiscated, the phone wallets are the next best thing.

Now I am not one to store any digital money or asset in an exchange or wallet, I devised a new plan.

I carry an encrypted paper wallet in the case of my phone. It is small, can not be read by scanners and safe if found from the encryption.

If needed I can scan it instantly for a digital cash reserve... or just hand it to someone for barter.

I have a duplicate in a safe at home, as well as on thumb drive wallet... I love redundant protection layers.

One Step Ahead

As "THEY" constantly change the rules and tighten the noose, we must be strategically one step ahead. Multiple options, ever changing tactics and redundant strategies (in case of user error), are your best bet.
.
.
.


Good Health – Evan Pantazi #Kyusho

Image Credit: iPhone

Sort:  

That's a pretty good idea - both the part about carrying coins around and also about taping them to keep them from jingling. How easy is it to sell them, in a pinch? I can't imagine being cashless in Japan and knowing where to turn to find a buyer, if the need were to arise.

Always a Jewlers is an option... but I carry in worse case scenario.

ооооооо....gold...

Great picture!

Great post. Thank for sharing @kyusho

Just a reality for me.

digital cash and cashless transaction indicate the cryptocurrency will arise with mobile or other electronic device, thanks for your concept.

Just an easier bank in your pocket!

Original cash not use in present tense it was low safety. But maybe use some of transactions. Digital cash more use in present and future tense. It`s higher safety. So I think you are correct and this is best idea @kyusho

As times change so must our ways of doing things.

I am a big club collecter , I try to save coins from every place I visit as memories along with their shot glasses

It`s great idea you decided @kyusho. 1st to be safety first.
Thank you for sharing this post.