You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Still Pissed Off About That Time You Did Something Awesome and Nobody Noticed?

in #life5 years ago

Each and everyone of us has a different definition of what steemit means to us and it's functions, that's the beauty of this place, so many possibilities in so many directions. It has the potential of being something for professionals use one day but a lot of things will have to change before that can happen but we don't need to get into those details. Like you say, I much prefer following people and artists rather than just art. I feel the same , without the social aspect ,it takes away from the full experience. I follow many that I may not necessarily be into their art but the personal connection makes them worthy of my full penny up-vote based on the fun had with them.

By sharing both your art and humor, you are also taping into a wider audience rather that limiting yourself to one thing. Your art Is nice by the way, I forgot to mention that in the original comment!

I'm not saying I don't see a future in my photography and blogging, I try not to go full tradesmen on it and degenerate my brand, I would probably scare half of the platform away, then again I would probably attract the other half...LMFAO. I have a career in the oil and energy sector and that's my main focus for now but my photography/stories is a potential retirement path/hobby that I'm slowly paving the way for myself. Maybe if I build an audience first, when I'm ready to be more serious about it, I will already have a base that I slowly built overtime. I find the old connections and support goes a long way rather than the insta-fame the disappears as quick as it came. I'm kind of an introvert in nature so social media stardom is probably not really a priority or something I will achieve quickly. I feel burdened and it takes the fun out of it when I have to think of something to write about everyday.

Sort:  

Some of this art was first released years ago. That's another thing I've been doing lately just to spice up my posts and breathe new life into old material. I've produced so much, I basically have my own Pixabay, so I may as well use it. Thank you for the compliment.

I was beginning to see an incredible future doing this blogging thing, back when the tokens shot up in value, making my account value worth almost a third of a million Canadian... and here's the part where I can't say any more about that... LOL!
Just laugh it off...

We all go at our own pace. I tend to burn the candle at both ends, get extremely tired, then take a break. Out of the three years I've been here, I've probably worked about two years, maybe a little more. One post per day, sometimes but rarely two.

Insta-fame.. pff. One hit wonders. I've been underground here for most of my stay. Those tribes popped up, suddenly I was making the trending pages there. This hardfork happened, suddenly I'm trending on Steemit. All I did was work and try to be entertaining most days. Nothing special really. Certainly don't take anything for granted either. Each contribution is still me just grinding away, trying to get higher. No comfort zones.

Nothing wrong with re-using photos with a different story to tell, heck some people use the same photo over and over for every article. I re-use photos from time to time, never taken any flak for it...as long as the text is original, it's still an original works. Haha,your own pixbay!! That's awesome.

Yeah that must of been a bummer to see your account worth so much and now so little. That does sting for anyone who intends to do this professionally. It did spark false hopes in many I believe. I was too small at the time to really be all that concerned about that but I'm not gonna lie, some days I look at my stake and think to myself, if only that was worth what it was at it's peak and it would fund the new camera I desperately need (mine is 9 years old and pieces are starting to fall off). Realistically tho, I think it has potential to go back to that point and beyond if they can figure out user retention issues and get adoption in higher numbers. Just be patient and hodl what you make. Sure it could also all just fall apart too but I like to be optimistic on occasion. Not that many people know what cryptos are yet so it's relatively early even for those starting now. Eyes on the prize and fortune favors the bold!

2 posts a day is a lot! I applaud anyone with that sorta dedication even if it's from time to time. I post once or twice a week and I need a break from that sometimes haha. Congrats on getting more views and better returns for your art. You have put in a lot of work and time and deserve every bit of it, hopefully it continues on the uptrend. We all enjoy being on the trending page from time to time, especially consistently. Glad to see some are benefiting from the new parameters that didn't under the old steemit. I guess that give me hope that maybe one day be my turn in time, although I can't complain the visits from various teams like @curie, @ocd and @blocktrades do make some surprise visits and leave a nice present have been encouraging. I know this is a dumb question, but what is "tribes"? I don't really keep up.

Since half goes to those who helped push this post up organically, at least it can feel like a generous move rather than selfishness. That page was full of greed for years with all of the paid vote riffraff. I hope it continues to be an opportunity available to all and doors don't shut again for actual content producers.

I'm not sure if I qualify for those big three names you mentioned. It's been a long while since I got that visit but I'm not complaining. Even when my posts were bottoming out, I just carried on.

Tribes. So if you look at my tags you'll see #creativecoin, #palnet, and #neoxian. Those are three different tribes.

https://www.creativecoin.xyz/@nonameslefttouse
https://www.palnet.io/@nonameslefttouse
https://www.neoxian.city/@nonameslefttouse

That's how my blog looks within each tribe. You can browse the sites and they look and feel just like Steemit. Creative Coin is for creative content only, so that helps with organization and getting eyes. I'll earn CCC tokens on top of the Steem. I stake those. Apparently I'm a whale there when I vote. Palnet and Neoxian City are much like Steemit, anything goes. Again, a chance at more visibility, plus I'm earning Palcoin and Neoxag tokens. I stake those as well, which is just like powering up.

If you were to use those three tags for something like a photography post or creative writing, art, music, whatever, even creative nonfiction — and I voted for it — you'd earn four different tokens plus have the opportunity to gain a bit more potential visibility. Simply posting from Steemit and using the tags is enough to have your work show up there. If you decide to sign in, the tribes ask for your keys. I use:
https://steemit.com/steem/@yabapmatt/hate-putting-private-keys-into-websites-introducing-steem-keychain

... to manage the keys, making sign ins a breeze. It's a browser extension. You can also use that tool to sign in here:
https://steem-engine.com

And that is an exchange where you can manage all of these new tokens.

There's a bit to learn but eventually it's all quite straightforward simple stuff.

Any questions, feel free to ask.

Definitely pro organic trending, I like that part of the new changes , seems to be reducing the bidbot usage bit by bit every day. Since I'm mostly a curator anyway, I welcomed that part of the change with open arms!! Din't change my voting behavior much because I always voted like a drunken sailor anyway but I find myself looking at the trending page again and liking it a lil better...looks less like the dumpster it once was.

Thanks for the detailed explanation, I will check it out later for sure then! I'm not sure about joining different platforms yet, I was on one not mentioned above and it kinda just sucked the fun out of it so I left but using a tag doesn't sound bad tho. I did hear a bit here and there about palnet but I never looked into it. Good that you can cash in on several tokens with your work. Every bit helps if it's a professional path for you. It does sound pretty strait forward enough to use tho that even a dumbass like me can manage...haha. So many side tokens now!

Almost too many side tokens. Technically, these aren't different platforms. They all run on the same blockchain. The content is simply organized into each frontend when the tag is used. The SMT and communities Steemit Inc is rolling out soon will be similar. People wanted SMTs and communities for so long, were sick of waiting, so a group of dedicated Steem enthusiasts just built their own. That's all the tribes are. Those aren't knockoff platforms like whaleshares or whatever. It's still Steem.

Well then!! that does change things if it's still steemit...There is so much I need to learn about this place, once I learn, it will all change again! Actually sounds more manageable for specific content search instead of having to filter thru all the bs to find new content creators to follow. I like! :)

There are plenty more tribes. I've used SteemLeo, which is where people go to talk business and investments. SteemAce is for gaming content. I think if you use the SteemPeak frontend, you can actually see all of the tribes there with a push of a button or two.

A lot of use received air drops early on. You actually have 1000 CCC tokens sitting in your Creative Coin wallet. If you stake them, you'll be the 2165th account to do so, and your vote becomes that much more powerful, when voting for content with the 'creativecoin' tag. You might even have some Palcoin, I'm not sure, but that Steem Engine link I gave you has it all in once place.