You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Beautiful Mind - Daniel Tammet

in #life5 years ago

Very interesting story. Lately, I have been interested in the skills we are born with, hard-coded in our brains - could be that epilepsy served to unlock that part of his brain... fascinating, anyway.
How do you know it is not 42?

Sort:  

Thanks for the comment @ladyrebecca. He's a great story.. and Daniel has met the real Rain Man Kim Peek (who inspired the film with Dustin Hoffman and Tom Cruise*) It's thought that the epilepsy may have caused some pathway interruption which connected usually disparate parts of the brain. It would probably take millions of years of evolution to come up with the same outcome, if ever, but interestingly people talk alot about psychedelics performing similar pathway interrruptions or loosening in different areas of the brain which are normally kept on quite separate circuits.

The reason I know it's not forty two. Well of course I don't but if you read my previous article, you'll see what I'm getting at. It's about Jim Thorpe, another outstanding example of humanity.
my previous article is here >>>