You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The National Anthem…Do you sit, kneel or stand?

in #life7 years ago

First of all thank you! Your reply was very respectful and well spoken. I failed to mention in my initial post that I did know that Colin chose to kneel because of not only honoring God, but also for fallen soldiers. The man in the first picture in this post is a military member that Colin essentially "hit the drawing board" with to avoid being viewed as disrespectful. I think this was amazing that he was willing to take other individuals thoughts and feelings into his ideas for protesting equality.

My problem is I know you are right. I know that there isn't a way to protest that unifies the country without causing more divide because they are conflicting ideas....but the problem is that I can't accept this. I have to hope and believe that there is always a way to make things better. If i quit believing in this...then what is left?

Also I feel your pain on the upvotes. I am the same, but I'm still having fun and trying to figure this all out. I have to say it is fun thus far.

Sort:  

@larryt20 - My goodness, it's been four days and somehow I must have missed your reply! Usually I'm much better about continuing an unfinished conversation. So lets talk about small matters first. I do not understand the voting system at all. It is in some way related to author and curation rewards which affect payouts and wallet value. In other words, it's beyond me. There is a penalty for voting within the first 30 minutes after a new post appears, but an upvote after seven days is wasted except for its positive impact on morale. Who made up these rules? Wiser minds than ours?

Regarding the players' protest, what I so greatly admire about the decision to kneel is the respectful, non-confrontational, imploring posture. Kneeling invites the wisdom of God to govern and guide an ongoing dialogue about unresolved concerns. You are so right that we must always hope and pray and work for peaceful solutions in all things.