"Happy" New Year?

in #life4 years ago

new-years-eve-4652544_1920.jpg

It has been awhile since I posted a blog on Steemit. My son got married and moved out. While I am very happy for him, well..... My husband is not well and not getting better. Additionally, I just turned 60 years old. I am an educator who is now looking at retiring in a couple of years. I am not even sure that I want to!
This is such a difficult time of year. My kids at school are either ecstatic over the fact that they have a long holiday vacation or very depressed because they have a long holiday break. Before school let out a week ago, I had one of my students crying on my shoulder because he was not going to see his mother over the break and he misses her.
Needless to say, I am feeling somewhat depressed lately!
I have started a new diet and exercise program that seems to help a little. Well, at least I have opened up my computer to write a blog!!
My hopes are that the new year, the new decade, will bring happiness to all. The world is in turmoil and the future uncertain. But there is always hope. I hope and pray that happiness is some form will reach everyone in the coming new year.

Sort:  

Congratulations @lcerm!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade for newcomers in the following categories:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 5 with 237 upvotes
  • Pending payout - Ranked 10 with $ 2,75

That is the great thing about New Year... it is a new year and a new opportunity to make this year better than the last (which is probably something you tell your students about every day!). Obviously, there are going to be things out of your control, but you have already taken some positive steps to control what you can... like exercising! And Blogging! I hope you you have a wonderful 2020.

Thank you for your encouraging words!