Which path to take: choices

in #life5 years ago

P_20190526_101852_LL.jpg

We have to make choices many times a day. Sometimes those choices are easy or simple choices. These choices really do not make much of a difference in in the over all scheme of things: do I want cheese or not on my sandwich. Should I wear the blue shirt or the red one. Other times, our choices can be huge and even life changing.

Which path do I take? One of the paths is meandering, with only small hills and dips in it. It may take me longer to get where I want to go, but it will be easier. I won't get tired out and there are few challenges or obstacles to face and over come. I may meet many people on my way and cause more delays in order to reach my goal. The other path is more of a challenge. There are steep hills and dips and will be much moe rigerous to complete. The effort that I will extend will be much greater than the other path. I may be tired when I reach the end but I will get there quicker!
Am I in a hurry to get to the end or do I have all the time in the world? Am I impatient to reach my goal or do I like to enjoy life as I go along? Sometimes the outcome can be very similar but the path is very different.

I teach. One of the things that I try to relay to my students is the importance of our choices. When they make a bad choice, I ask them "what could you have done differently?" I hope that next time they will stop and think before they do something that is not in their best interest. However, sometimes the choices we make are not easily dismissed and do not give us the opportunity to make better choices next time. We have to live with our choices.

We can not get out of it. We all have to make choices. Some may put off making them for as long as they can but it is inevitabe. When we have to make those big choices, take your time before you decide which path to take. Try to see the consequences of making bad choices. :-)

Sort:  

Mindfulness is such an important practice. I agree, with the right attitude every experience has the potential to become a learning experience. We can't always predict an outcome, but we can at least know our intent. And yes, we can't always fix our mistakes, but, we can still change our mindset moving forward. Yes, finding acceptance is tremendously important. So many people endlessly torment themselves for the mistakes they have made, so much so that it impairs their ability to move forward. Life can be very challenging at times.

I agree. Life in itself is a challenge.