Sort:  

It is a hypothesis put forward by Kurzweil and some others. It is interesting but there are some major safety concerns. If AGI is developed in the wrong way then the benefits might not be shared. Also it might not be possible to develop AGI in a way which can be contained.

Personally I think a good use case for AGI is a von Neumann Probe.



Do you think technology may asymptote and we will someday know all that can be known?

I don't have enough knowledge to answer that so I can only respond with I do not know. But I do know humans are very limited.

As Socrates asserted: "I know that I know nothing."

Godel incompleteness theorem would suggest some things will always be unknowable. This implies knowledge is limited. True knowledge may also not even be possible. So not only do I recognize that I don't know anything but I recognize that our math will not allow me to know everything.

thanks for all the interesting videos, hope the weekend goes well!!

Escape velocity. To be smart enough to become smarter. What's the chain reaction threshold? I bet = mere random binary flipping.

It is just a horizon.