Happy Fathers Day - Old Post

in #life8 years ago

https://ipfs.pics/ipfs/QmV7y6QKWzRizirTuZJVXMtet5hcrBzLpNGeqLNGRK4GeK

I come from an asian household so many stereotypes that you guys hear about holds true. My parents are not very good with expressing their feelings and are always negative with everything that comes out of their mouth. I like to celebrate fathers day, mothers day, and a couple of holidays for them because I appreciate all the sacrifices they have made. They took a big chance coming from Asia to America when they were younger and I am very appreciative towards my parents because of this. What I don't appreciate is the constant lack of positivity around the household and whenever we all spend family time together. There is always non-stock bickering and complaints coming from my parents mouth and they never appreciate many of the things their children do. Today is fathers day and I took hours of hours of time to prepare lunch and dinner for my parents but mainly my dad. When he got home from work late afternoon, he instantly complained that I was wasting my time making food. I told him that I was making it for him because it was fathers day and that I appreciated him. But no, instead I get lecture after lecture on how I have wasted more time cleaning the dishes and prepping lunch and dinner for the day. It drives me crazy that my parents don't appreciate anything. I've heard from many of you that I should appreciate my parents for the sacrifices they made in raising me. But, 22 years of my life and my parents always find the negative in every single thing that I can possibly do. It frustrates me to no end and I hate when people say that it's because my parents care about me. No, its because my parents are fucking control freaks. My dad tries to control everyone in the household because he has some fucking power dynamic fucking attitude. This is likely why my sister doesn't even return home for weeks. She's gone through living with my parents long enough and could not take the negativity anymore. I believe I have depression after all of this shit. The only reason I went to a college out of state was to get away from my parents. The constant tasks, chores, and things my parents need help with take up more than a 60 hour work week. It's fucking impossible to get anything done at my house because my parents need help with everything and they have expressed no positivity or happiness for years. I, on the other hand obey everything they need completed, does all the chores, and agree with everything they say but now I'm done with it. I'm fucking sick of taking all this shit from family and I need to move out asap. I'd rather build up debt renting an apartment or condo then fucking live with these negative people for another month of my life.