Why ask where I am from?

in #life7 years ago

It seems we are really careful these days trying not to be judgmental of others but it seems somewhere along the way the judgment still exists. I have never been a racasit person have always seen people for who they are not where they come from, sexual preference or any other way of separating a human being into the certain categories. Though it seems these days everyone wants to know where do you come from and when I say Australian this still doesn't seem to satisfy them they than want to know about my parents!
So before you ask as well yes my parents are Australian too and their parents as well and if you want to go deeper you will find German, And even Aboriginal in my bloodline but who cares really I am a human being just like you, made by god, so what difference does it make where I'm born?
I know most only ask these questions because their confused why my children have Islamic names. Though why should where I'm born have anything to do with my religious beliefs?
Here in Australia there is already a seperation of the Islamic community to general population. I hear the words racist or we aren't accepted used a lot and at first I thought this to be true. Though once my children started to attend an Islamic school and we were more involved with the Muslim community I found this to maybe not be the full truth. I don't think it is done intentionally but they seem to seperate themselves to those that are not Muslim ( though this is not all Muslim but a large minority) it is promoted to only attend afternoon activities with groups run by the Islamic community. I have heard comments from parents like I wouldn't ask my neighbor for help, they are Aussies. I myself have been judged for not wearing a scarf though many women in the school also don't wear the scarf. My son spent his first three years being bullied and friendless as he was judged for having a Aussie mum or because his skin was too white. Thankfully my other son didn't go through this, as he looks like his dad and fit in a lot better.
My point isn't to disrespect or say they are bad people because that's not true but maybe a few certain views of how you treat others need to be changed. I don't judge you by the clothes, country or religious beliefs so please don't judge me for not covering myself from head to toe. If I chose to wear a nice knee length dress in the hot months of the Australian summer it doesn't mean I am not wearing something that is modest, feminine and tasteful. I am not wearing a micro mini shirt and bra top so please don't judge me like I am wearing something so totally wrong and I won't judge you for choosing to be fully covered sometimes to the extent that you can't even identify any physical features of the face.
There are however many other moms in the community that are very approachable and accepting of others and make the effort to fit into the community. It is only those few that see themselves better than the rest that seem to give of this disgusting view of others.