You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A conversation with a tree

in #life5 years ago

Here it is. I encourage you to watch it all. I know it's long, but it's a beautifully-presented view into someone's way of life and how she is so in touch with the beauty and magic of nature, and how it is about to be torn apart. The point at which I truly "lost it" is near the very end, at around 31 minutes but I'm not sure I would have been so affected had I not watched the whole thing from start to finish.

Sort:  

It is rather heart breaking when people give up modern day convinces to have the view they always wanted and then that is put at risk and even removed.

I’m blessed to live in decently wooded area. Many of the plots of land are owned but left untouched. One day people will want develop it. Many of them from what we could tell bought the land for a future vacation/retirement home once they move out of the city and retire. I’ve been blessed to have as many years as I have been to still see those plots of land filled with just trees.

A couple of times a year I’ll hear heavy equipment go down one of the dirt roads. I think to myself this could be the last time I get to enjoy this view. I’ve already put up a fence on one side when that plots of land not only got clear but they did not seem to enjoy trees very much. A family from a large city moved in and they were not so found of nature and wanted all their land possible for shooting firearms and fireworks off at any random hour of the day. Along with just leaving broken stuff on side of their plot which a fence now blocks.