Portugal's Postcards - The Beginning of Everything

in #life6 years ago

 For  the last couple of years, I've been roaming around my country's  backyard in search of something different, something else, something  that would change the most difficult part of every person's life,  themselves.


Looking  back, the path wasn't the best one, or the choices weren't always the  correct ones. As a kid, I've dreamed of traveling the world and seeing  all, had dreams of achieving a greater purpose in life by changing the  world. People portrait me as rude but honestly, I'm shy, I normally  don't speak that much, at least without knowing who's hearing my  thoughts, I tent to ruin what I've built without knowing it. I've felt  lost, down and burned so much I thought I had no soul left. For every  stairway you have to walk up there was always a deep hole, where the  darkest parts of yourself come to say hello, once again. 


There  a few moments when I felt my life changed forever. Back in 2014, I was working 16 hours per on a restaurant, earning and saving the most I  could, was going out almost every day thinking that the rush and party  scene would give me something to call life. During a couple of weeks in August there was a similar sentence that I've heard, '' you look pale'',  probably side effects of working too much or bad nutrition, I thought.  On the 24th I woke up for a normal boring day, rush to the bathroom,  there was a strange smell on the air, which I wasn't familiar with,  toilet paper come out red, didn't have much time to think about, since I  was late, again...
At  the restaurant, after rush hour, I felt hill, went to the bathroom 3  times in 20 minutes, the toilet was red, same smell, ''looks like  blood'' I thought. Went straight to a chair, where I grab my head  around, feeling lost, confused '' I'm going to pass out'' I yelled to my  boss, woke up surrounded by people, getting set up for the ambulance to  arrive. I thought I was going to die several times, was in a huge mess, without knowing what was my problem. Feeling lost and desperate is the correct sentence. From one hospital do the other, dozens of exams, 15 blood  units, 5 shots per day, one surgery, 10 kg weight-loss and a destroyed  mind, after it was revealed I had a tumor inside my larger intestine, I still remember my first meal after 11 days of not knowing what was to  eat or drink, a cup of tea which boost my energy, after a couple of  hours, a yogurt, that a few minutes later was coming out of my mouth.
But being there, saying hello to the other side, had a profound effect on me, after some weeks in the hospital I started to wake up really soon  and ''walk'' across the aisle for a view of the sunrise between the hills, next to the hospital. I remember being there and saying to myself, ''After this, you're going to change your life and starting to act like yourself'', photography was just a hobby but also a path, which  I could take if I took it seriously enough.

 


That  brings me to April of 2015, my first big adventure, which I was in  great need for, for 3 weeks went hitchhiking trip through northern  Portugal, the last week I was all by myself, my two friends weren't  around anymore so I went, went north, walked 45km with my backpack, from  Braga City to Gerês National Park. I cant describe how good and  refreshing it was, I felt changed, I've found my flame back. Hiking the steep valleys, diving on the clearest lakes and climbing the highest peaks. That had a deep and profound impact on me, changing what I was  looking for. 


It was an experience unlike any other, and it opened my heart and soul to what nature truly has to offer. Since  then I felt I add a job to do, finding places that are unique and  inspiring to other individuals that somehow were once upon a time in a shit hole of misery, just like I was once. Since that time I've been traveling across the country, and it opened my heart and soul to what  nature truly has to offer, discovering and sharing my findings.


I want to capture stories and landscapes that inspire individuals to consider their relationship with nature and to find themselves, as well to  help promote the preservation of such wild spaces, to inspire them to  explore the beauty that surrounds them.

From now on I'll bring you a detailed article about what this tiny country  has to show, that my quick wrap about ''Portugal's Postcards''.


Take care, Leo

https://www.instagram.com/leodomingox/


Sort:  

Traveling teaches us alot of ourselves and humans, it's lovely that you have it in mind to show others what you have seen at unique places. keep doing great bro

Olá @leodomingos junte-se á comunidade do telegram Steemit Portugal :). Obrigado!
Abraço.