Saving An Old Kitchen Island From The Landfill

in #life4 years ago

My wife has been wanting a rolling island for the kitchen. I have a cabinet we are currently using that I had plans to put casters on and cut some marble I have laying around to put on the top for a cutting board. However, I was able to pick up this old rolling island from a friend for free! Not only was it free but my friend custom made it about 15 years ago!


image.png

The wood on the front right of the island was put there for a meat grinder. We won't be using a meat grinder so this will be removed and the screw holes filled in with homemade wood putty. The island has been stained in the past but I will be completely sanding it down.



image.png

The island doesn't look like it has been cleaned in years! I used some steel wool and bleach water to completely scrub it down and then let it dry before I began sanding. Look at how dirty the water was!...

image.png


It took about a total of eight hours to sand down the island. I used 60, 80, 100, 150, 200, and 220 grit sand paper. I know it seems like a lot of different grits but the old stain that was on the island took a lot of sanding to get off!

There were some gaps in between the wood planks on top of the cutting board. I saved my sawdust from sanding and mixed it with wood glue to turn it into a homemade wood putty.


image.png

The gaps were then filled in with a putty knife. The excess putty was cleaned up with water and a rag. I then had to sand down the putty that would not come completely off with a putty knife.


image.png

The sanding alone took about 8 hours on the table. The table had to be completely wiped down after I finished sanding. I also took a Shop-Vac and removed any excess dust that may be on the table. My wife didn't want a stain on the finished product so I went with a food grade mineral oil to help protect the wood and bring out its natural grain.


image.png
After Sanding

image.png
After Stain

-----

The table will receive one more coat of mineral oil in a few hours. Tomorrow it will be ready to go upstairs. Eventually, my wife wants me to finish the two drawers with Pioneer Woman branded contact paper and to change out the knobs. Currently, the knobs are custom and made from deer antlers. I definitely won't be throwing them away as they are pretty awesome in my book.


It made me really happy to reclaim furniture that was headed for the dump. We not only helped the environment but now we have a family piece that will be around for a very long time. I also got scored some Hubby Points from the Wifey and those never hurt to have a few extra:-)

Oh...and I made friends with a Ringneck Snake that came through the door of the basement while I was working.


image.png

All pictures owned by me

Sort:  

Recycling is awesome! And now you own a 15 years old wood work of art. It was well worth it to spend hours cleaning it and sanding it. It looks so good! I am sure you made your wife very happy with this! Congrats!

We are really grateful to have scored this. The person that made it is a wood worker and he is moving states and he had too much to take. I agree that it is a work of art!

What a difference its made after you've worked on it. It's beautiful. Hopefully youmur brownie points will last you a while, I'd certainly be dishing out loads if my other half will lift a finger to make me something practical 😊

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 12/18)