What? Lex Is Trying To Start A Small Farm?!

in #life4 years ago

Yep, you read the title correctly. Life has changed rather drastically for Lex in the past year. My family and I were able to move further out into the country than we were before and managed to acquire more land in the process.


image.png


What to do with more land?

Start a small farm obviously!


Our goal isn't necessarily to have a money making farm. It's more for self sufficiency, healthier food, and to give me a goal to get outside to help with my Post Traumatic Stress.

Interesting Times Already

There is tons to do to make the land usable! We are only the second family to live here but the last family to live here logged the land and it was left in quite a negative state. There are many trees on the ground that still need to be cut up. That's ok...I'll use it for firewood!


image.png


I spent a big part of last summer clearing land. One day I was burning brush and let's just say I may or may not have almost burnt the mountain down when a spark caught some brush on fire in a place my water hose could not reach! There was about an acre that burned before two firetrucks showed up to save the day!


image.png


There is an old chicken coup on the property.


image.png

It was cleaned out in the Fall of 2019. It took approximately four to five hours to clean and sanitize it. I was rocking a mask before Corona Virus made rocking a mask a thing. smh.


There is an Outhouse along with an Apple Tree.

image.png

The Apple Tree produces and it was my intention to trim it this winter because it sorely needs it. Unfortunately, I did not get to the task and will have to wait until winter to trim it.

The Outhouse. Ah...the Outhouse. What fond memories we have already created together. Around March of this year during the height of the hysteria that is the Corona Virus, I started running a fever and was having chills. We have a walkout basement and I instantly quarantined myself and scheduled a Corona Virus Test the next day.

The morning of the Corona Virus Test I found a tick deeply embedded in the skin of my belly button. It took hours to find a doctor that would let me come in to have the tick removed. I was diagnosed with Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever but the doc still wanted me to take the Corona Virus Test as a precaution.

It took 6 days for the test results to come back in and I was in quarantine the whole time. The test came back negative but my time in quarantine would have been way worse without the outhouse!


Last. But not Least. The Creek!


image.png

There is a nice sized creek that runs at the bottom of the property. My family and I have spent hours together walking the creek and it has created many wonderful memories!

There are many days I go on walks by myself to clear my head and I feel it has been really helpful as a therapy for Post Traumatic Stress and all the crap that goes with that.


There is today's short tour of where we moved to. My next blogs will be focused on what projects I have going, which I have completed, and an introduction of the animals we have acquired since moving here.

All pictures in this post are owned by me

Sort:  

That is one way to clear land. Maybe next time just see if they will help you with a controlled burn?

Best thing about our farm is our creek. It is our northern property line and we only have about 500 feet due to the shape of the property. Looks like you have a good bit more land than we do.

It was definitely an interesting day. I felt like I was being safe. Next time I will make multiple control lines before burning and have invested in more hose. We have a little over 4 acres, so it's not too huge but big enough for us to have a small farm. The creek on the southern end is about 750 feet and we also have a creek on the west and east end of the property. We are pretty much surrounded on three sides by creeks.

Looks like fun, my friend! Nature is such a beautiful place to heal. Blessings to you and your family on your new adventure!

Nature is wonderful friend. Feel so blessed to see your comment. Think of your family all the time.

Grateful for you, my friend. My wife works diligently to help veterans heal - one of her brothers, and one of mine included. Mental health healing is urgent.