Bear story

in #life2 years ago (edited)

While we were on vacation we had a uncomfortable situation but to get to that we need to go to the beginning.

We were on vacation in a remote area with lots of hiking paths. Ofc. Since everything is wood area there are a lot of animals- deers, bears, foxes, wolves, …

My bf checked some blogs and places and he found some guy writing about very popular hiking spot he was on few days ago with his wife, kid and dog

So we decided to go there, the moment we stoped and got out of the car I heard bear
sounds and roaring on a nearby hill which was covered in trees.

726951C8-C7CB-4D27-92F7-A3127F1EB409.jpeg

We still decided to go hiking since the area was declared safe.
I watched too much documentary’s so I was on the watch the whole time we were there.
I was feeling bit on the edge because of informations I knew about bears, like stalking their pray and ofc. The fact that September was mostly the last month for them to get fatten before hibernation.

We were hiking for almost two hours, the sights were beautiful

AE2BF69D-64CB-49DB-9CA2-EE1A51D19ED6.jpeg

FAE28330-28D9-44C3-8317-7E4AC5952CE0.jpeg

74DC022F-CA6D-4CF1-831F-DB2926C39489.jpeg

We came to the sight of meadow and decided to walk down to the middle of it

072988AD-2F8A-437C-AA9D-BE307088AFBF.jpeg
This was taken few min before sighting

Around us were steep edges and woods, then my bf said “Look, a bear” , he was on the edge walking in to the woods. We were also starting to lose sunlight so with those two on the mind I suggested to get back.
We were half way on the edge when I turned back for safety measure when I saw him… at least 500 kilograms/ 1102 pound grizzly running downhill towards the middle in our direction. He was huge, I could see the size of his head and front legs. I said to my bf “ He is running towards us” , he looked back and told me “Run! Follow the trail, stay on the path!” We started running up hill to the top, sprinting down hill and ran about 3 kilometers to the car on a straight path.

The adrenaline rush was indescribable, the feeling of running for your life… the fear, the rush, the instinct of survival pushing you to go on even tho your lungs are collapsing because of the cold. I almost stopped two times even tho I’m in fair shape, the cold was too much on my lungs, the pain was horrible, but my bf pushed me to get a grip and run. He was also at his limit and we pushed each other and in the end came back safety to the car.
The shock started kicking in, both his and my lungs were in pain, we sat at least 25 min in the car till we comprehended everything

I decided not to go hiking for the rest of vacation. I grew up in woods, I mean wild boars are shit compare to this, thank God the distance was long enough for us to make a run behind the hill, I think that played a very big part, he probably slowed down when we were out of his sight, but still we ran, you never know…

I can say this changed me, how? , I don’t know, I’ll have to fined out
I just know I’m happy we all came back safe and one day this will be a fun story I’ll tell to my grandkids how I got chased by a bear

Thank you for checking out my post
Stay safe 🖖🏻❤️

Sort:  

Dear @lilchillgirl,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!