You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BBC Reporting Iran has Launched Drones at Israel

in #lifelast month

I find the high-handedness of Israel and the United States very frustrating. Look, I am no friend of wars because of the high cost in innocent lives they entail, but I do not condemn when nations like Iran respond to events like the consulate attack. In that sense, when they choose not to respond, I do not condemn them either, but I am very critical when they fail to deliver on their promises of retaliation. So I will evaluate the success of this Iranian operation on its ability to inflict real or at least proportional damage to that which they suffered. In fact, I am still waiting for a forceful response to the assassination of Qasem Soleimani, based on the statements of the Iranian authorities after that barbaric attack.

Sort:  

I have been keeping an eye on some chatter and am actually pretty disappointed Iran chose to retaliate in this way at this time. It's pretty clearly a pre-arranged show, rather than a sincere action to discourage their enemies from attacking them, which, while understandable, doesn't merit much admiration. There are very good reasons Iran has to not engage the US and Israel in a war, ~90M of them, and I do respect Iran for it's forbearance. But the show they just put on is catering, even pandering, to an audience that isn't worthy of the expense IMHO. I think Mexico did a better job of objecting, albeit with a lesser provocation, and retains stronger basis for demand of recompense going forward. Iran has discarded such potential, exchanged for a public tantrum that, at least so far, is no discouragement whatsoever, but rather appears to have strengthened the support Israelis have for Netanyahu and their terrorist government and made escalation almost certain.

To folks that are aware that it's a pre-arranged show, it deprecates the sovereignty of Iran and it's people. I would have thought better of a polity Soleimani considered worthy of his life and service. Personally I think Iran would have better left folks guessing, conserved it's munitions, and made fools of the spooks predicting their response. There are myriad mechanisms Iran could employ to geld the rabid pitbull Netanyahu appears to be, and not a few of them would have lent less support to the Revisionist Zionists running Israel, and also caused the hyperventilating spooks to lose face. I'm not privy to Iranian counsel in council, and maybe it suited them to appear predictable, capable only of a show of retaliatory force, and internationally leashed. I dunno. Maybe we're all just stuck on this rock together, and we just have to make the best of the compatriots we can find in our circumstances.

Thanks!

I am much agree with you in this point my friend. I also stopped to study the reactions to the events at the Iranian consulate in Damascus, and it is really disappointing the double standards that continue to prevail in international politics.