CAMPING ADVENTURE

in #life7 years ago

A well thought out plan? Not really, but there often the best ones and this turn out to be a great one

With some borrowed gear from my friends last minute and a very excited little girl of we set on our travels to where we were getting dropped off. There is so many cracking we spots around where we stay for camping, I new a good we place but a we trek away(for a 3 year old and plenty of stuff)

Marching through the field carry more stuff than I could handle there was thoughts off that I had bit of more than I could chew here, but not to be defeated the fields where shortening and our destination was edging closer. With a few stops, mainly for me to catch my breath or for ams to find some fun out of the gear we brought, she can entertain herself from anything and its amazing to seelooking through mat.jpg

With a good 3 hours of daylight left in us I though we’d get straight to work and then set up camp and get the fire going before I’d left it to late(me being the responsible adult is quite worrying)

The tent was easy, a pop up tent. I f you’ve not seen one it’s in the name, it literally just pops up. Great idea I though the boys a genius who invented this, until I took it down the next day, it literally keeps popping back up, I was soon cursing it then but got there in the end after many deep breaths

Next step, the FIRE. Both pretty excited by the idea of it we set of on our travels again to gather some fire wood. Plenty about, and plenty we needed to keep us going through the night. Wading through grass longer than Amaleigh we found some good wood, not putting her off at all she was happy to help and found plenty of fun along the way. Eventually we gathered enough and set it a lite. The sheer joy on the wee ones face was class and she soon became hypnotised just standing watching the fire, with a little education along the way for her in such a fun learning environment she continued to help keep it going.campfire up.jpgloving the fire.jpg

A few challenges crept up along the way which living in Scotland I should have known was going to come, was the nightmare midges. Being close enough to water aswell I knew they were going to be worse. The winds picked up and the smoke of our roaring fire was helping to keep them at lengths. Although a lot of bit marks still the day but I guess that’s all part of the game.

Her imagination kept us entertained as we explored around other areas of where we where before we got her back to settle in for the night. Kids imaginations are incredible and I learnt a lot from my child in this experience too.

me and ams.jpgview.jpgview 2.jpg

Back at camp and getting ready for bed my next challenge occurred, mostly for me, the juice had leaked onto one of the sleeping bags literally soaking it, not letting the situation ruin the success so far I tucked Amaleigh up in hers(dry) cuddled in till she slept and then went and sat out by the fire to ponder the sleeping situation

With a few beers going down nicely, a peacefully sleeping wee one, good fire going and an amazing surroundings I soon forgot about it and enjoyed the momentfire.jpg

Having been a long but brilliant night I soon decided It was time to hit the scather and catch up on some sleep or so I thought. Soon realising that the airbed that I was on had now completely been deflated, small hole I just thought fuck it, I sleep where I'll am with my clothes on. Hey, not the best nights sleep of my life but the wee one slept all the way through.

sleep.jpg
I was awoken to a voice calling morning, as I opened my eyes there my daughter is 2inches in front of my face. I’m thinking, right time to get up then.

We had an hour till pick up time so with some last minute entertainment and the rest of the time trying to pop down the pop up tent, not easy but would have been fun to watch someone else try and do. As wee soldiered back across the fields back to civilisation we marched with are heads held high, as we’d conquered our mission and made our bond even stronger.

Both glad to be home after a brilliant night away together, fresh clothes and some good food in us we had a nice chilled day until the next time. It's such an amazing experience to share with my daughter an are already palnning our next adventure
I would recommend anyone that hasn’t taken the child camping to do so, it really does bring you so close together and you can almost see life through there eyes
helping dad.jpg

Rod @livethedream0208

Sort:  

Congratulations @livethedream0208! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!