My funny Valentine Yarn

in #life5 years ago (edited)

The year is 1969 and she desperately wants that funky pair of bell bottoms, but the price-tag at the trendy boutique is just way too high.
With a heavy heart she takes the bus back home, sad that she’ll have to settle for something old for that special Valentine’s date.
Late that night she gets a brainwave, tiptoes into the sewing room and finds her treasure, Mom’s leftover psychedelic upholstery fabric!
The sewing machine worked late into the night as her inventive creation became the funkiest bell bottoms ever!

She looked and felt a million dollars when her date arrived and was the belle of the ball that night!

Bell bottoms barbie.jpg
Image Source

Reluctant to let the night end at the front gate, she invited him in for a nightcap.

However, as she sat down on the reconditioned couch, she realized her folly!
Her stunning bell bottoms blended perfectly with the couch, in fact became a part of it!

couch-788035_1920.jpg
Image Source

Mom’s upholstery fabric became her biggest embarrassment!

Thankfully her Valentine’s date had a fabulous sense of humor and they both burst out laughing when he pretended not to see her on the couch, priceless!

They still laugh at that night some forty odd years later!

Qurator lizelle.png

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

lol, oh my goodness you made me laugh! Tell me this was you and hubby!! Such a fun story. Having made my own bell bottoms in the day, I can totally relate although never did I have the opportunity to use fancy fabric! Beautiful tale...love Barbie and her friends! ;)

The bell bottoms story really happened but I just turned it into a Valentine's story, my best friend was with me that night, never wore that pair again ;) Met hubby later but we've been married for 44 years already, a lifetime, so the last bit is also true!
PS and we do laugh about it today still, he knows me so well so could picture my reaction, my face must have been a picture :):)

hahaha now that was funny, but very educational as well. Sometimes you do not need expensive stuff. All you need is some imagination, sewing machine, and determination. :)

Thank you for sharing this story with us. Happy Valentine Day. :)

So glad you enjoyed it @awakentolife, thank you for your lovely comments! I loved dressing up in the latest fashion as a teen (didn't we all?) Being one of 5 children I had to resort to the sewing machine, this one turned from triumph to failure, never wore it again ;);)

oohhh @lizelle what a story😂😂😂 this remind me to an old movie I watched when I was a kid, sophia loren made her party gown using the gordyn or window veils and she won something😊. but your story is far more amazing😉 so you marrying your date. What a lovely memory you have on valentine😊

LOL, thank you @cicisaja! I never saw that movie but have heard of someone who also used the lace curtains to make a wedding dress, where there's a will, there's a way not so ;)
We're married for 44 years already...yep I'm an oldie ;)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 402 (02/16/19)

Thank you so much @thesteemengine!

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Thank you so very much for the wonderful surprise @adsactly, really made my day :)

Beautiful story. Happy Valentines day Lizelle.

Ah thank you so much @bigtom13, hope you had a Happy Valentines!