You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I won some Steem on SSC, so I bought a tree and planted it.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Awesome initiative @intrepidsurfer, and you know what, it only takes one little flame to start a wildfire so will certainly help spread this idea on steemit. Or should I say one little seed to start a forest?
We have quite a steep bank across the road from where we live, it's the back of a school so quite neglected but we started planting mango, avocado and papaya trees halfway up the bank, will try and get some pics and do a little post on it. We propagated some from pips so did not cost anything. So hopefully in a couple of years there will be fruit for passers by.
Sad to see how arid the region has become in Peru, perhaps ignorance by the people?
Great idea and well done on breaking another SSC record, I love entering but ugly bad sandwich has me stumped so far :):)
Enjoy seeing the trees grow!
BTW it's hot and sticky here, can't wait for the Durban winter, best time of the year!

Sort:  

thank you @lizelle for your kind words. I hope so too, that this idea grows and should become a positive output of steemit.

Basically population growth has exceeded the capacity at which the local environment can sustain it. Just need to plant loads more trees and get locals involved with it. This takes time and relationship building is vital. I wish I could plant mangoes, avocados and papaya trees. The local environment is not suited for it and water is a scarce resource here. I hope the kids eat the fruits of the trees you planted. Way better than junk food.

This week's sandwich competition has got me a little stumped too.