Life Notes

in #life8 months ago

A pigeon, in its happy place, on top of my neighbour's roof

It's a Bank Holiday, but I'm kind of working. I've moved from doing a job that needs me to turn up everyday to something that's a bit more flexible. So I have a call in 30 mins time, that will be 2hrs, but that's all I'm really doing today. It feels good to be starting something new and interesting. There'll be more to say about it once I'm up and running properly.


We walked back from dinner on Saturday night and saw that the moon is getting quite full. It's also quite low in the sky so looks even bigger than usual. With a bit more spare time, I've been taking more photos, so I thought I'd slap on my 300mm lens to shoot the moon when it's properly full on Wednesday night - but y'know, you've got to make some test shots first and it was interesting to see what I could shoot from my doorstep first thing this morning. Pigeons, obviously - this guy sits there and sings to the neighbourhood whenever he fancies it. He was not bothered by me pointing a camera at him in the slightest.


Autumn does feel like it's on the way. Last week felt like the last week of the summer holidays always used to when I was a kid. But this week it's much more "back to school" time and it's been getting chillier. The most obvious sign of this in nature has been that the spiders are coming into the house to keep warm. I don't mind them so much, as long as they don't crawl on me in the night. But a couple of times this week I've got up in the morning to find that my wife has trapped an eight-legged friend in the bath with a glass, ready for me to do my bit and eject them from the human space.

Sort:  

Do you get the really big spiders? We get the odd one running across the living room. I've heard them called Hertfordshire Hairies.

Yep, those are the ones that I notice most, but I expect there are all kinds around. I think mostly they hang out under the floorboards (we have airbricks that let them in and out) and then when they want a bit of warmth, they squeeze their way up into the rest of the house.

We have lots of little ones that we coexist with. They keep down some of the other bugs.

I've noticed in the caravan that when the windows are secured slightly open and left undisturbed, the spiders quickly create a natural insect barrier between the window and the frame. The webs are 3-D not the traditional flat plane.

Much to be grateful for with these little creatures. Someone was telling me the other day that dragonflies are important (to us!) for reducing numbers of mosquitoes.

Wasps do good too. We need the whole ecosystem

Congratulations @lloyddavis! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 7 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2023
HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Prizes from our sponsors