Iftar Time in London

in #life7 years ago

I would like to start this post by wishing everyone, both Muslim and non-Muslim, a Happy Ramadhan...

Ramadhan Mubarak!

ramadan-2366301_1280.png

We are half way through this blessed month and I would like to share with you a few photos of some of the things we like to eat at Iftar time, the time in the evening when it starts to go dark and we can start eating again.

It is a special time of year which brings people together as we enjoy to open the fast with friends and relatives, we also send plates of food around to the neighbours which I think really increases the community spirit. It is a friendly gesture to send some treats around to our non-fasting neighbours also.

We make our intention to open the fast and we start with a few dates and water. If you don't fancy dates you can always start with water, or a glass of milk. But there's such a variety of lovely dates, you are sure to find one that suits your taste. I like to take the stones out in advance and decorate them with nuts, honey, coconut or sesame seeds.

Now for the food...

WhatsApp Image 2017-05-31 at 21.09.52.jpeg

The idea of Ramadhan is not to over indulge, but sometimes you do feel like making the extra effort to have something special when you haven't eaten all day, especially when you will be inviting people round to share it with you.

As I'm living in a Pakistani household, some of the main things we love to eat at Iftar time are samosas, spring rolls and pakoras. They are very tasty, fried snacks. But I also make bowls of fruit salad, chickpea salad and smoothies to ensure we get some energetic, healthy food in as well.

WhatsApp Image 2017-05-29 at 20.58.30.jpeg

My husband and the kids love a cooling, refreshing drink of Ruh Afza with their meal, which is a red syrup made up of fruits, flowers, herbs, roots and vegetables which I like to mix with water, lemon juice and basil seeds.

I hope you found this post interesting and I'm also interested to know about what other people from different countries like to eat at Iftar time too. Please share your ideas and photos with me.