The Confusion: To Do Or Not To Do Anything.

in #life6 years ago

Every now and then we face a situation when we have to decide whether to do or not to do anything.

The problem here is that if we do anything, we are scared of the consequences.

And if we don't do anything, we are scared of missing the opportunity.

In this dilemma, we are entirely confused, what to do.

But there is a solution.

And it may work out.

And if it doesn't, we will know what not to do.

At least we don't lose anything by trying it.

There are five steps of getting out of this problem/confusion.

1. Ask yourself, does doing this will make you proud of yourself?

2. If you do this, will you hurt anyone?

3. By doing this, are you helping someone or you are doing it for your sheer selfishness.

4. Will you regret the consequences of making this decision in this situation for the rest of your life?

5. At the end, will you be happy by doing it?

If you legitimately answer all of these questions, you will know in your heart whether you are doing the right thing or not.

Because we always know in our heart what is right and what is wrong.

But we ignore this intuition of ours.

And then we regret the consequences.

At last, either we will gain an experience from our decisions or we will enjoy the results.

What's there to enjoy in life except to try everything and truly live it.


Sort:  

Wonderful post. I really liked "By doing this, are you helping someone or you are doing it for your sheer selfishness." Sometimes I wonder if we trick ourselves into thinking that our need to fix, caretake or 'save' someone is actually a selfishly motivated thing. How de we distinguish 'good' selfish from 'bad' selfish? Thank you for sharing!

that seems to be some questions I should ask myself

These are the question everyone must ask.
Because everyone faces these kinds of situations and self-questioning is the answer.

Say good Like the thoughtful people

I consider myself thoughtful.

I have been in this dilemma many times in my life. I will try to implement your suggestions @looftee.

I will be very happy if I have helped you in any way.

I can compare it to good poetry

I don't think I am a poet in any way, but still thankyou.